The Game Creators
The Game Creators Home Click to Login
  Hot: AGK V2 On STEAM!November NewsletterAGK V2 Alpha 9AGK V108.xx
The Game Creators
WIP / BBB Gui Plugin

Go to the first page of this board Return to the Forum Menu Post Message
794 Messages - Page   of 20   
Bookmark and Share Search the Forum Next 40

Author Message
Brendy boy

DBPro Tool Maker


Joined: Sun Jul 17th 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 20th Dec 2009 09:34     Edited: 30th Apr 2012 14:35     | link | toggle

This is a plugin which allows you to add Windows GUI components to your applications. It works under windows xp, vista and 7 and has visual styles turned on by default - you don't need a manifest file to tell the Windows to turn on visual styles.

Finished
Still working on
Not yet started or it doesn't work

Features:
Windows
Buttons
Combobox - 2 different types
Editbox
Radiobox
Listview
Listbox
Treeview
Rebar
Updown (spinner) controls
Tab controls
Static windows and images
Toolbar
Menus - window menus and context (popup) menus
Groupbox
Dropdown groupbox
Splitter
Imagelists
Date picker
Color picker dialog
Open and save dialog
Folder requester dialog
Messagebox dialog
Progressbar
Scrollbar
Trackbar
Statusbar
Cursors
Web browser
Window theming (using .msstyles theme files)
MDI windows
Rich editbox
Sintax highlighting editbox
Font requester dialog
Window skinning
System tray
Transparent windows
GDI - drawing lines, circles, rectangles (black or colored)


Here is a complete command list (there is currently 355 commands):
+ Code Snippet

Tell me what you think, report bugs and tell me what you want me to add.

Update 04/30/2012 (v1.4.0.2.) NEW
======================
+ Code Snippet

Update 04/29/2012 (v1.4.0.1.)
======================
+ Code Snippet

Update 04/08/2012 (v1.4.0.0.)
======================
+ Code Snippet

Update 07/13/2010 (v1.3.0.0.)
======================
+ Code Snippet

Update 03/18/2010 (v1.2.0.2.)
======================
+ Code Snippet

Update 03/09/2010 (v1.2.0.1.)
======================
+ Code Snippet

Update 3/01/2010 (v1.2.0.0.)
======================
+ Code Snippet

Update 02/09/2010 (v1.1.0.0.)
=====================
+ Code Snippet

Update 12/30/2009 (v1.0.0.1.)
======================
+ Code Snippet


FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS:
* My application has a silent crash on exit, what's the problem?
I'm still working on this problem. Possible solutions: stop using theme files or use Newton's plugin just for theming. You can find his plugin at the following link:http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=163892&b=5

* I compiled the examples but they don't work as they should. Why?
Make sure you included "BBBGUI_Constants.dba" file in you project. If you did and it still doesn't work try adding the following line at the beggining of your project: #include "BBBGUI_CONSTANTS.dba"

* When i compile my application i get the following error: "The program can't start because USkin.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem."
Make sure the "USkin.dll" file is in the same folder as your application exe. If you are compiling in debug mode then your application exe is in dbpro's temp folder.

Screenshot of the plugin in use:


Back to top
Download: BBB Gui 1.4.0.2.rar Size: 1645536 bytesReport this message as abusive
Joeeigel

User


Joined: Tue Jun 6th 2006
Location: A dark room...
Posted: 20th Dec 2009 14:15           | link | toggle

If its done, why did you post it in the WIP board? Also, can we please see some screenshots of it in action?

Back to top
Send AIM user a message
Report this message as abusive
Brendy boy

DBPro Tool Maker


Joined: Sun Jul 17th 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 20th Dec 2009 20:46     Edited: 20th Dec 2009 20:50     | link | toggle

Quote: "If its done, why did you post it in the WIP board? Also, can we please see some screenshots of it in action?"

Well, i plan to add a couple of commands more and I don't know if there are any bugs so this version could be called 0.9 alpha ->that's why is it in the WIP board.

For screenshots of it in action please check my other WIP board called Landscape & Map Creator - my 3d modeling program whoose interface is created using this plugin.


http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=159294&b=8

God is real unless declared integer.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
revenant chaos

User


Joined: Wed Mar 21st 2007
Location: Robbinsdale, MN
Posted: 21st Dec 2009 03:02           | link | toggle

This looks good... too bad it doesn't work for me. I get the error message:
Failed To Load DLL (3: BBB GUI.dll)

DBpro 7.5 beta 1
Windows XP Media Center Edition (Service Pack 2)
AMD Athlon 3700+ 2.2ghz
2gb PC3200 RAM
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Brendy boy

DBPro Tool Maker


Joined: Sun Jul 17th 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 21st Dec 2009 03:35           | link | toggle

Quote: "This looks good... too bad it doesn't work for me. I get the error message:
Failed To Load DLL (3: BBB GUI.dll)"

Try installing Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable Package (x86)

Here is the link:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=9B2DA534-3E03-4391-8A4D-074B9F2BC1BF&displaylang=en

God is real unless declared integer.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Yodaman Jer

User


Joined: Mon Sep 17th 2007
Location: In my head
Posted: 21st Dec 2009 04:38           | link | toggle

I like the screenshots in your other thread! I've been fascinated with learning GUi stuff recently, so I may try this out later on.


Sign up here!
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
revenant chaos

User


Joined: Wed Mar 21st 2007
Location: Robbinsdale, MN
Posted: 21st Dec 2009 11:38           | link | toggle

Quote: "Try installing Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable Package (x86)"
I already has this installed (as well as visual c++ 2008 express).
I downloaded and installed it anyways in case anything needed to be repaired but it still crashes with the same error.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
peterJBE

User


Joined: Tue Mar 11th 2008
Location: Belgium
Posted: 21st Dec 2009 12:41           | link | toggle

Your project looks interesting.

I have de same problem as Revenant Chaos.
dbpro 1.74

The visual C++ redistributable package is also on my system.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Melancholic

User


Joined: Thu Nov 26th 2009
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 21st Dec 2009 14:46           | link | toggle

I also have the same problem
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
tiresius

User


Joined: Wed Nov 13th 2002
Location: MA USA
Posted: 21st Dec 2009 17:42           | link | toggle

This looks really cool. Are there any plans to add a Canvas gadget? If BlueGUI becomes unusable in the future I may switch to this for my project, as it seems similar. Nice work!

I'm not a real programmer but I play one with DBPro!
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Brendy boy

DBPro Tool Maker


Joined: Sun Jul 17th 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 21st Dec 2009 21:31           | link | toggle

I uploaded a new version in the first post. Check if it works now.
For compiling the examples i used dbpro 7.5 beta2.


Quote: "This looks really cool. Are there any plans to add a Canvas gadget? If BlueGUI becomes unusable in the future I may switch to this for my project, as it seems similar. Nice work!"

I don't have blue gui, what is Canvas gadget used for?

God is real unless declared integer.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
lucifer 1101

User


Joined: Mon Jan 26th 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posted: 22nd Dec 2009 00:53           | link | toggle

0.0 Exactly what i need by the looks of it...
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
revenant chaos

User


Joined: Wed Mar 21st 2007
Location: Robbinsdale, MN
Posted: 22nd Dec 2009 01:13           | link | toggle

Ok the examples work now, and I must say it looks great (your ruby theme looks really nice). However when closing the application I get a crash every time (no matter if I escape out, or click the X).
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Brendy boy

DBPro Tool Maker


Joined: Sun Jul 17th 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 22nd Dec 2009 01:27           | link | toggle

Quote: "However when closing the application I get a crash every time (no matter if I escape out, or click the X). "

That's probably because uskin library needs to be released before closing the application. I will add a command for that. I never got a crash like that though.

God is real unless declared integer.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
lucifer 1101

User


Joined: Mon Jan 26th 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posted: 22nd Dec 2009 01:34           | link | toggle

i get the same problem, but overall very nice
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
tiresius

User


Joined: Wed Nov 13th 2002
Location: MA USA
Posted: 22nd Dec 2009 21:20           | link | toggle

Quote: "I don't have blue gui, what is Canvas gadget used for?"
I think a Canvas gadget is just a windows GDI region with which BlueGUI had very basic commands to it, such as setting color and drawing point, box, lines, etc. It also had a function to grab the canvas contents and stick it in a DBPro image. I use the Canvas in my level editor as a minimap on a panel gadget.

I'm not a real programmer but I play one with DBPro!
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Brendy boy

DBPro Tool Maker


Joined: Sun Jul 17th 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 23rd Dec 2009 07:14           | link | toggle

I uploaded a new version in the first post.
I added a new command -> KILL BBB GUI. It shouldn't crash any more when you exit the application.

God is real unless declared integer.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
peterJBE

User


Joined: Tue Mar 11th 2008
Location: Belgium
Posted: 23rd Dec 2009 10:35           | link | toggle

@Brendy Boy

Now I could compile your examples. It looks very interesting.

It did not work for me until I copied your files to
c:\program files\the game creators\dark basic professional\projects
and not to a folder like:
H:\newdownloads\bbbgui\BBB Gui examples
In that case I received the message BBBGui.dll not found.
I always installed your latest updates, to test the software
There is also a spelling difference between TGC's 'plugin-user' folder and yours.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
revenant chaos

User


Joined: Wed Mar 21st 2007
Location: Robbinsdale, MN
Posted: 23rd Dec 2009 12:15           | link | toggle

Quote: "I added a new command -> KILL BBB GUI."
You mean End BBB GUI?

Quote: "It shouldn't crash any more when you exit the application."
Sorry man, It still crashes.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Brendy boy

DBPro Tool Maker


Joined: Sun Jul 17th 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 23rd Dec 2009 22:00           | link | toggle

Quote: "You mean End BBB GUI?"
Yeah, I meant END BBB GUI.

Quote: "Sorry man, It still crashes. "
I quite sure that the problem is in uskin.dll that i use for theming the windows. Try calling the START BBB GUI command without specifying the theme file (Ruby.msstyles), does it still crashes?

God is real unless declared integer.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Google Ad
Back to top
 
JosephB

User


Joined: Tue Sep 12th 2006
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 24th Dec 2009 13:53           | link | toggle

Works nicely when you don't include the theme file.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Tylerman35

User


Joined: Thu Jul 23rd 2009
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 24th Dec 2009 17:46           | link | toggle

i get an error saying USkin.dll was not found. And after that Failed to load BBB Gui. How can i fix this?
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Brendy boy

DBPro Tool Maker


Joined: Sun Jul 17th 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 24th Dec 2009 21:11           | link | toggle

Quote: "i get an error saying USkin.dll was not found. And after that Failed to load BBB Gui. How can i fix this? "

Do you have the newest version of the bbb gui plugin?
USkin.dll has to be in the same folder with yout application exe file.
Have you tried compiling the examples without specifying the theme file.
Which version of dbpro you use?
What version of windows you have?

God is real unless declared integer.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Liopriwo

User


Joined: Wed Dec 2nd 2009
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 24th Dec 2009 21:49           | link | toggle

Thank you very much for this plugin!

I just have one question: Does it have any restrictions?
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
revenant chaos

User


Joined: Wed Mar 21st 2007
Location: Robbinsdale, MN
Posted: 25th Dec 2009 07:44           | link | toggle

Quote: "I quite sure that the problem is in uskin.dll that i use for theming the windows. Try calling the START BBB GUI command without specifying the theme file (Ruby.msstyles), does it still crashes?
"
Nope, without the theme file it doesn't crash upon exiting.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Plotinus

User


Joined: Sat Mar 28th 2009
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 25th Dec 2009 23:18     Edited: 25th Dec 2009 23:19     | link | toggle

This is fantastic. Thank you for making this available. I'm sure it will be widely used - it deserves to be. I had the same crashing problem and also found that by removing the theme it was resolved.

I really like the professional-looking, anti-aliased font that you have used for the windows and objects. I very much wish it were possible to use fonts like this for normal text in DBPro (instead of the ugly, un-anti-aliased text that it prints out; even Cloggy's dll cannot produce anti-aliased text in small sizes like this, yet all modern applications use it).

I'm wondering if I could use your MAKE LABEL command in place of TEXT, in a large window, to produce a window with many lines of nice-looking text. Ideally, though, I'd like to do that in the main DBPro screen, not in a new window. Is there any way I could do something like that with this plug-in?
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Brendy boy

DBPro Tool Maker


Joined: Sun Jul 17th 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 26th Dec 2009 01:40           | link | toggle

Quote: "I'm wondering if I could use your MAKE LABEL command in place of TEXT, in a large window, to produce a window with many lines of nice-looking text. Ideally, though, I'd like to do that in the main DBPro screen, not in a new window. Is there any way I could do something like that with this plug-in? "

Well, you can but label's background will be visible all the time. You can't show only text -> for that to work the label's background would have to be set to transparent and that would be painfully slow.

God is real unless declared integer.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Brendy boy

DBPro Tool Maker


Joined: Sun Jul 17th 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 26th Dec 2009 01:42           | link | toggle

Quote: "I just have one question: Does it have any restrictions? "

What kind of restrictions?

God is real unless declared integer.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Liopriwo

User


Joined: Wed Dec 2nd 2009
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 26th Dec 2009 12:41           | link | toggle

Quote: "
What kind of restrictions?"

I mean if your plugin is free for commercial use.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Plotinus

User


Joined: Sat Mar 28th 2009
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 26th Dec 2009 18:00           | link | toggle

Quote: "Well, you can but label's background will be visible all the time. You can't show only text -> for that to work the label's background would have to be set to transparent and that would be painfully slow."

I could just make the label colour the same as the background colour. I've been doing a bit of experimenting with this and it looks good. The only problem I've got is that it doesn't seem to be possible to delete or change the text in a label once it's been created. I want to simulate a screen of scrolling text, so what I was thinking was to have a label for each row on the screen, and then change the text in the labels so that it looks like it's scrolling upwards. But I find that when I change the label text, it changes for a moment and then reverts to the text it had originally. Might there be any way around this? Thanks for any ideas!
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Tylerman35

User


Joined: Thu Jul 23rd 2009
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 26th Dec 2009 21:13     Edited: 27th Dec 2009 00:42     | link | toggle

This code wont work when i press the X Button

+ Code Snippet

also can you make a tutorial on this for If statements. For example (if menu button clicked then make object box)or something like that.

By the way i like the gui!
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Brendy boy

DBPro Tool Maker


Joined: Sun Jul 17th 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 27th Dec 2009 01:20           | link | toggle

Quote: "I mean if your plugin is free for commercial use. "
It is.


Quote: "But I find that when I change the label text, it changes for a moment and then reverts to the text it had originally. Might there be any way around this? Thanks for any ideas!"
I don't know why that happened, it shouldn't. Is anybody else experiencing the same problem.


Quote: "This code wont work when i press the X Button"
Is the file "BBBGUI_CONSTANTS.dba" included in your project?
Did you set the dbpro window to main window with SET MAIN WINDOW command?
Is this happening in one of the examples that come with bbbgui or in some project of yours?

Quote: "also can you make a tutorial on this for If statements. For example (if menu button clicked then make object box)or something like that."
Of course I can. And I will for one of the future updates.

God is real unless declared integer.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Hockeykid

DBPro Tool Maker


Joined: Wed Sep 26th 2007
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 27th Dec 2009 10:28     Edited: 27th Dec 2009 10:41     | link | toggle

Found a bug

if the dbp program is not closed with the X (the gui X in the top right) your application will get a silent crash

Also do you think maybe you could get the top GUI bar to appear when in windowed-full screen and windowed-desktop ?

Back to top
Report this message as abusive
hookkshot

User


Joined: Thu Apr 12th 2007
Location: Adelaide, Aus
Posted: 29th Dec 2009 14:01           | link | toggle

When i use the COMBOBOX GET SELECTED ITEM STRING(comboboxnum)

it comes up with

could not determine parameter type of "COMBOBOX GET SELECTED ITEM STRING(comboboxnum)"

2.0Gh AM2 Processor, 9800GT, 2Gb Ram
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
hookkshot

User


Joined: Thu Apr 12th 2007
Location: Adelaide, Aus
Posted: 29th Dec 2009 21:20           | link | toggle

Has anyone else had this problem

2.0Gh AM2 Processor, 9800GT, 2Gb Ram
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
bloody bamboo

User


Joined: Tue Dec 29th 2009
Location: Germany
Posted: 29th Dec 2009 21:40           | link | toggle

I think a documentation would be no bad thing.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
bloody bamboo

User


Joined: Tue Dec 29th 2009
Location: Germany
Posted: 29th Dec 2009 22:00           | link | toggle

Quote: "When i use the COMBOBOX GET SELECTED ITEM STRING(comboboxnum)

it comes up with

could not determine parameter type of "COMBOBOX GET SELECTED ITEM STRING(comboboxnum)""

try it once with:
+ Code Snippet
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Brendy boy

DBPro Tool Maker


Joined: Sun Jul 17th 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 29th Dec 2009 22:08           | link | toggle

Quote: "When i use the COMBOBOX GET SELECTED ITEM STRING(comboboxnum)

it comes up with

could not determine parameter type of "COMBOBOX GET SELECTED ITEM STRING(comboboxnum)""

It seems that i wrote the name of the command wrong inside the bbb gui keywords, Sorry about that, i'll upload an update in a few hours.
Correct name is: COMBOBOX GET SELECTED ITEM TEXT(combobox_handle)

God is real unless declared integer.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Brendy boy

DBPro Tool Maker


Joined: Sun Jul 17th 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 29th Dec 2009 22:18           | link | toggle

Quote: "if the dbp program is not closed with the X (the gui X in the top right) your application will get a silent crash
"

You need to end your application with a command END BBB GUI
If you use themes then you will have a silent crash anyway because there's obviously a bug inside the uskin.dll.
If you don't want silent crash don't use themes.

Quote: "Also do you think maybe you could get the top GUI bar to appear when in windowed-full screen and windowed-desktop ?"
I'm not sure if that's possible, but i'll see what i can do.

God is real unless declared integer.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
hookkshot

User


Joined: Thu Apr 12th 2007
Location: Adelaide, Aus
Posted: 30th Dec 2009 04:29           | link | toggle

Yep thats what it was works great now thanks

2.0Gh AM2 Processor, 9800GT, 2Gb Ram
Back to top
Report this message as abusive

Go to the first page of this board Return to the Forum Menu Post Message
794 Messages - Page   of 20   
Search the Forum Next 40

This is a multi-page thread older than 30 days.
Go to the last page to check if you can reply to it.

Forum Search

Enter a word or phrase to search our Forum for:

Thread Subject Search
Search Phrase:
Search Scope: Entire forum
Just this board
 
Google Forum Search
Search Phrase:
 
Apollo v2.02


Winter Sale
Privacy Policy AUP Top of Page