The Game Creators
The Game Creators Home Click to Login
  Hot: July NewsletterReloaded storeAGK
The Game Creators
Android / Swype text input ignored.

Go to the first page of this board Return to the Forum Menu Post Message
16 Messages - Page   of 1   
Bookmark and Share Search the Forum

Author Message
CJB

User


Joined: Tue Feb 10th 2004
Location: Essex, UK
Posted: 24th Aug 2012 03:15           | link | toggle

Hi all,

How do I get Swype text input? If I'm using Swype on my Android device (Galaxy s2 - ICS), the text input box remains empty, but when hitting individual keys, it works fine.

Here is a quick example:

+ Code Snippet

Thank you!

p.s. I love AGK already! Great work TGC! can't wait for 3d

Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Ancient Lady

AGK Master


Joined: Wed Mar 17th 2004
Location: Virginia, USA
Posted: 24th Aug 2012 14:33           | link | toggle

From what I can see on the web, Swype Text is an add on to an Android device and not the built-in pop-up keyboard.

If that is the case, then it is possible that AGK won't recognize the swiping on the keys as input.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
CJB

User


Joined: Tue Feb 10th 2004
Location: Essex, UK
Posted: 24th Aug 2012 15:36     Edited: 24th Aug 2012 15:37     | link | toggle

A little more testing has shown the voice-to-text input method also doesn't work (which I think is also a fairly standard input method for Android users).

I'll do some digging and figure this out! I have found an article
that descirbes a way to do it
Quote: "use an Android TextView in an AlertDialog from the Java code and send text with JNI to your (native C++) edit box;"
which may help point me in the right direction.

If anyone has already cracked this problem, I'd love to know your solution! Thanks.

Back to top
Report this message as abusive
CJB

User


Joined: Tue Feb 10th 2004
Location: Essex, UK
Posted: 26th Aug 2012 12:33           | link | toggle

Okay, so Android stylee text input is out (for now). I'll put that little project on the back burner until its fixed.

Back to top
Report this message as abusive
MrValentine

AGK Backer


Joined: Sun Dec 5th 2010
Location: My Mysterious Office [UK]
Posted: 28th Aug 2012 07:53           | link | toggle

Quote: "Okay, so Android stylee text input is out (for now). I'll put that little project on the back burner until its fixed."

As SWYPE is not a native feature, I think that backburner will not get off the shelf for a while...

Food for thought

Back to top
Report this message as abusive
CJB

User


Joined: Tue Feb 10th 2004
Location: Essex, UK
Posted: 28th Aug 2012 08:47           | link | toggle

Native or not, when you use "StartTextInput", the Swype keyboard appears, along with the little microphone button for Voice-to-text (which when pressed asks for you to start talking etc. but doesn't pass any text back to the app). I don't mind so much that they aren't or even won't be supported in AGK, but if not, then the virtual keyboard presented to the user should be a basic no-frills one-key-at-a-time virtual keyboard, otherwise it renders all the text input commands quite useless.

Back to top
Report this message as abusive
MrValentine

AGK Backer


Joined: Sun Dec 5th 2010
Location: My Mysterious Office [UK]
Posted: 28th Aug 2012 09:00           | link | toggle

Pwrsonally I see it no different than a souped up multimedia keyboard with media keys... They are there but do not do anything in all apps...

Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Digital Awakening

AGK Backer


Joined: Tue Aug 27th 2002
Location: Sweden
Posted: 28th Aug 2012 11:38           | link | toggle

Replacing the keyboard is quite common on Android. It shouldn't make a difference which one you are using. I use Swift key but have not tried it in AGK since the text input is so buggy on Android. Text input in AGK should not be any different than a web browser etc.

Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Google Ad
Back to top
 
Ancient Lady

AGK Master


Joined: Wed Mar 17th 2004
Location: Virginia, USA
Posted: 28th Aug 2012 14:56           | link | toggle

CJB, you did say in your original post that tapping on individual keys works. If someone doesn't have Swype text installed, they won't see that keyboard.

AGK simply presents whatever keyboard is set up to display on the device.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
CJB

User


Joined: Tue Feb 10th 2004
Location: Essex, UK
Posted: 29th Aug 2012 08:47           | link | toggle

@ Digital Awakening: I Agree completely! Text input in AGK should not be any different than any other Android app.

@ Ancient Lady: I don't want to have to tell my users to change their virtual keyboard settings to basic no-frills mode before using my app. No other Android app I have ever used tells me I have to change my virtual keyboard settings, so neither should mine. AGK is set up to present whatever keyboard is installed, but it isn't set up to use it, which is a problem.

It is an issue that will need addressing at some point.

Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Ancient Lady

AGK Master


Joined: Wed Mar 17th 2004
Location: Virginia, USA
Posted: 29th Aug 2012 15:55           | link | toggle

CJB, since the keyboard popped up automatically and you were able to click on the keys, you don't have to tell your customers anything. The keyboard worked, it just didn't accept the swipes as input.

The app worked without any changes on your part. You just can't use non-standard inputs (ie, inputs not available on other devices through the keyboard).

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
MrValentine

AGK Backer


Joined: Sun Dec 5th 2010
Location: My Mysterious Office [UK]
Posted: 29th Aug 2012 16:40           | link | toggle

To be quite frank... You should not accept SWYPE input as it is highly insecure and a security risk... It even tells you so...

And dont start with voice input either...

Simple hardware(default) input is more than adequate...

Back to top
Report this message as abusive
CJB

User


Joined: Tue Feb 10th 2004
Location: Essex, UK
Posted: 4th Sep 2012 14:24           | link | toggle

Okay. If it is unlikely to get fixed, then what is the best way for me to tell my users to turn off their enhanced keyboard features? With a splash screen?

... actually I think I'd rather get it working properly. I'll put some thought into it and let you know how I get on.

Back to top
Report this message as abusive
MrValentine

AGK Backer


Joined: Sun Dec 5th 2010
Location: My Mysterious Office [UK]
Posted: 4th Sep 2012 20:51           | link | toggle

Quote: "... actually I think I'd rather get it working properly. I'll put some thought into it and let you know how I get on.
"

Good man!

Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Ancient Lady

AGK Master


Joined: Wed Mar 17th 2004
Location: Virginia, USA
Posted: 17th Sep 2012 17:13           | link | toggle

Your users should not need to turn off their enhanced keyboard features as long as their keyboard returns keys pressed individually.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Rich Dersheimer

AGK Gold Backer


Joined: Wed Jul 1st 2009
Location: Inside the box
Posted: 19th Sep 2012 17:39           | link | toggle

CJB, you could design your own keyboard/input routine, see my thread here.

Back to top
Report this message as abusive

Go to the first page of this board Return to the Forum Menu Post Message
16 Messages - Page   of 1   
Search the Forum

Sorry, but it has been so long since anyone replied to this Thread that it has been automatically locked.
You may read it but not reply.

Forum Search

Enter a word or phrase to search our Forum for:

Thread Subject Search
Search Phrase:
Search Scope: Entire forum
Just this board
 
Google Forum Search
Search Phrase:
 
Apollo v2.02


Privacy Policy AUP Top of Page