Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Is rolling your own text solution theonly way to perfect text alignment in AGK2?

Author
AGK Bronze Backer
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi folks,

creating some kind of text adventure is on my bucket list. So far I think I need to create my own text rendering solution that supports kerning and offsets properly to do this, i think.

Or did I miss something when I studied the docs?

Cheers
Michael
29 games
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Dec 2014 23:54
I never knew the kerning was a thing.

To answer your questions, no there are no inbuilt commands as far as far as I understand them, so you'll have code it yourself.

I'm not sure how you'd go about doing this so I can't be more helpful.

However, if it was me, and I'd like to do a text based game so it might be me, I'd just design a font that looked right and without too much faffing about.

Funnell7
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Dec 2014 00:05
Isn't kerning just basically overlapping the letters slightly? If so a negative value with SetTextSpacing would achieve this, no?
29 games
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Dec 2014 00:35
According to Wikipedia the amount of overlapping depends on the characters that are adjacent to each other, the font being used and the case (upper or lower). For instance for the word "WAR" the would be overlap between the W and the A but not for A and R. It's all about getting words on the page to look pleasing to the eye, not just about getting the spacing correct.

The SetTextSpacing()command spaces all the letters by the same amount so wouldn't adjust the overlap to suit the different characters.