Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Vertical scrolling and increasing speed

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I've been trying to work this stuff out for a month now, and have finally had enough, so I thought I'd ask here.

The only way I've figured out how to vertically scroll my background is to simply move the image along the Y axis, but is there a better way?

I tried adapting the code from Space Shooter, but it appears that the UV coding only works for the X axis. Is there something that works on the Y axis?

I also want the scrolling to speed up every 30 seconds, but the only way I can figure out to do that is to code each 30 second period by itself (ie, 30, 60, 90, etc.), and I increase the speed only slightly each time, so that will be a lot of coding.

At the risk of looking like an idiot, I'll include the coding I use for this bit.

BatVink
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Feb 2015 16:28 Edited at: 28th Feb 2015 16:29
A couple of comments...

Don't set your speed to 0.75. Work out how far you want to travel in 1 second, and calculate it every frame. Some devices will be running at 60FPS, others (low-end) at 30FPS, and others may vary wildly. Thus, your game plays differently for all users.

Lets say you want to scroll 45 units per second. Save 45 as a variable at the top of the program, outside the game loop.

defaultScroll# = 45

Each frame, calculate y# as:

y# = defaultScroll# * getFrameTime()

This bit only works once, for 30 seconds. It also assumes you are playing only one game, getSeconds()is the start of the app., not the start of each new game.

try something like this. Firstly, record the start time of the game:

gameStart# = timer()