Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Endless Runner game logic

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello, it's my first time in AppGameKit
I wanna create an Endless runner game type (like banana kong, zombie tsunami) for android and ios, but I have two questions...

In the game, the scene is infinite, enemys, itens, holes, coins and background are randomly generated, but how can I do it? Whats the logic in it?
For the enemy and itens is easy, because it won't spaw in many positions, and in only one location (on the floor)... But how can I generate holes and coins randomly? The coins appers in any random position, and some times in horizontal or vertical.

Thw other question: How make game to run in all Android screens resolutions?

img attached.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
bjadams
AGK Backer
Years of Service
User Offline
these questions are not really related to AGK

they are related to making an endless runner in any engine, so if you're going to use any other SDK, you're going to run into the same questions.

Check out the past NEWSLETTERS, I am sure you will find something similar to what you want.

For Screen resolutions, search for the most popular screen res being in use right now, and make 2d artwork for that. AppGameKit will automatically resize
Cor
AGK Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Aug 2015 18:29
Hello custelinha,
welcome to the wonderful world of agk!

logic for the endless runners i have made goes somewhat like this... Make a platform, subtract the x value until its no longer visible. when its "scrolled" past the screen, you respawn it at the other side giving the illusion that its endless but its really just 2 or 3 scrolling images.