Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Game Design Theory / [STICKY] Level Design Theory:Tutorial/Tips

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Oct 2005 01:35
Level Design: Some Quick Tips

Introduction
Hi all. Level design is a funny-old job/activity, one that a lot of people forget about, and that there are few books on learning about. I thought I'd mention a few tips here to get people thinking about certain aspects of level design. Am I an 'expert'? Maybe I am, maybe I'm not, but I have some experience and I hope I can share it with people.

The Theme
You probably already know what your game type is (if not, why are you doing levels?) - whether it's an RPG, or a 3d platformer, or an FPS or an action/adventure or something else, you should know what the 'challenges' your player will face, and what 'tools' you have to use against the player.
If it's an RPG for example, maybe you can't jump. So have no gaps.
If it's a platformer, have lots of jumps, but maybe no NPCs.
If it's an FPS, you can have areas for fights, but maybe no hand to hand.
If it's an action/adventure, maybe you'll be pushing blocks and punching baddies (no long range combat).

Anyway - know your theme and know what tools you'll have to play with. Be it ranged combat, lockpicking, block pushing, button pressing, NPC talking, melee combat, short jumps, long jumps, swimming etc.

The Environment