Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / Perfect Environment

Author
Message
The Wilderbeast
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 4th Aug 2006 14:13 Edited at: 4th Aug 2006 14:21
I often see a lot of people asking how to make rain and stuff like that. so here is my contribution to DBC. Perfect Environment is a set of functions that will mean users can easily create their own weather. to show you how easy it is, here is a sample function to create a cirrus cloud...


let me explain: 2 is the type of cloud, there are 3 clouds. stratus, cirrus and cumulus.

1 is the area number, you can create different areas within your matrix so you can have a variety of weather.

1 is the starting cloud number, so you can specify what object number to start from.

4 is the stopping cloud number, this means that it starts on object 1 and finishes on object 4. therefor we now have4 clouds.

200 is the height of the cloud in world units.


20 is the thickness of the cloud. when the camera gets to this height the screen will be filled with white fog.


how far am i? i've created the basic functions. the main function types are load_ : this will load all of the stuff, load_cloud will load all of the cloud images and create all of the variables.

make_ : this will make something, make_rain will make rain

update_ : this updates the object, update_cloud will reposition it acording to the wind heading and strength

delete_ : this delets the element


to name just a few features:
wind
sound
rain
clouds
weather areas
cloud tracking
return values
flexible
sun
moon
lighting
time
the addon will be free and will be updated regularly
this addon does require a basic knowledge of weather though

here is the first screenshot

Uber_Soldiers | Worms 4 clan | http://www.freewebs.com/uber_soldiers

Attachments

Login to view attachments
zzz
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posted: 4th Aug 2006 14:31
It´s looking really good! Can you show us some more screenshots?
Great work wilderbeast, keep it up!

The Wilderbeast
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 4th Aug 2006 15:12
ok..

here is a cirrus cloud


cumulus texture


going into the clouds creates fog


stratus cloud


Uber_Soldiers | Worms 4 clan | http://www.freewebs.com/uber_soldiers
The Wilderbeast
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 4th Aug 2006 16:17 Edited at: 4th Aug 2006 16:19
also, here is a quick demo that i put together to show you a few simple features.

it includes wind, fog, sky sphere and a layer of cirrus cloud.
i was also wanting to do a bit of testing to see how it runs on other peoples computers, so i included a fps counter. on mine it ran a healthy 40fps. please can you post back and tell me what fps you got.

controls:

up-forward
down-backward
mouse-look
+ -increase wind
- -decrease wind
esc-exit



Uber_Soldiers | Worms 4 clan | http://www.freewebs.com/uber_soldiers

Attachments

Login to view attachments
The Wilderbeast
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 4th Aug 2006 20:09
anybody tried it out yet???

Uber_Soldiers | Worms 4 clan | http://www.freewebs.com/uber_soldiers
Heckno
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2004
Location: Palm Coast, FL
Posted: 5th Aug 2006 00:09
i got 40 as well but it look like it was being run at a very low res...

i build and run everything at a min of 1280 x 1024, any chance you can crank it up a bit...
Mr Tank
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 5th Aug 2006 02:23
Looks cool. I'm interested in having a go and finding out how this works. Would it be possible to cause it to loop? I say this because then animated skyboxes could be made.


You'll be able to click on this someday.
Oddmind
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jun 2004
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posted: 5th Aug 2006 02:54
hey this looks to have a lot of potential. I was running at 40 as well, I can't wait to see how to add rain.

formerly KrazyJimmy

Prayers for rain...
John Y
Synergy Editor Developer
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posted: 5th Aug 2006 17:20
Would it be possible to make the landscape smoother, it was very angular. The rest of the demo was neat, but I was looking the window to have more effect than just increasing the volume

Get the new DarkBasic Professional IDE free until October!
Http://synergyide.thegamecreators.com
Http://omegabasic.thegamecreators.com
Deltic
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th May 2004
Location:
Posted: 6th Aug 2006 17:19
Great demo. I'm an amateur meteorologist and am trying to think of a game idea incorporating the weather amongst other things. This sounds like something that would help me alot. Keep up the great work. Any idea when the addon will be available ?
Zedane
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Nov 2004
Location: Milky Way, Earth
Posted: 7th Aug 2006 03:55
Very cool project Wilderbeast, keep it up!


around here.. normal's just a setting on a hair dryer
Diggsey
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2006
Location: On this web page.
Posted: 7th Aug 2006 14:34 Edited at: 7th Aug 2006 14:35
Any chance of you adding tornados? Also, does the wind affect the clouds? Can you choose the wind direction? Will objects be affected by wind/tornados?

There are three types of people, those that can count and those that can't.
The Wilderbeast
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 12th Aug 2006 13:45
hello all, sorry i have not replyed, i was on holiday.
i've decide to release Perfect Environment as a collection of titles. I am working on Perfect Sky at the moment.
The landscape isn't a function, i just included one to make it look more appealing. also what i included was just one example. of course it can do more than set the sound volume!!!
anyway, i came across a major problem. you can't create a variable in 1 function and then pass it on to another one. so to create the demo i didn't specificly use my functions, if you get what i mean. instead i had to code it from scratch:

e.g. instead of


i had to use


the wind should affect the clouds in the demo, but it looks a little sketchy cus i'm scrolling the texture. but for cumulus clouds (which are a load of textured planes) i can reposition them. the only thing i'm worried about is the affect it will have on frame rates.

more coming soon, once i get this function problem sorted out

Uber_Soldiers | Worms 4 clan | http://www.freewebs.com/uber_soldiers
The Wilderbeast
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 12th Aug 2006 15:04 Edited at: 12th Aug 2006 17:09
I'm now splitting it into 3 addons: perfect land, perfect sea, perfect sky. perfect sky should be available in about october/november 2006 if all goes well. i've found out that you can only pass 1 variable at the endfunction. which is a problem because i need to pass on a lot more. could anyone offer some help?

The Wilderbeast
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 12th Aug 2006 17:15
also i fixed the fogging problem. so when you go into the cloud it turns the fog on.

here's 2 screens:

below cloud


in cloud

i have also fixed the skysphere. it has been changed from a sphere to a box.

Sixty Squares
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2006
Location: Somewhere in the world
Posted: 12th Aug 2006 18:55
Looks nice but the skybox seems a bit 3D. You may want to look at setting the "light" in SET OBJECt to 0 on that object. Of course you have to get by all of those other parameters first

The Wilderbeast
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 12th Aug 2006 19:43
didn't notice much difference

Sixty Squares
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2006
Location: Somewhere in the world
Posted: 15th Aug 2006 03:27
Ah well. Anyway, it's not looking too bad! I tried the demo and it could use a little touching up. Here are some things I found needed touching up:
-The sky
-The camera: It can do a full rotation.
-The Zoom feature using the middle mouse button (It went crazy)

That's it for now. Keep it up!

The Wilderbeast
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 18th Aug 2006 20:37 Edited at: 18th Aug 2006 20:43
ok thanks 4 the support. first of all i fixed the fog, so it now acctivates when you are in the cloud. second i didn't use the middle mouse button at all. but i find i have the same porblem as well.

now... a little idea. you can only export 1 variable/constant after the endfunction command. if i created a function within the main function for each variable eg.



slightly confusing

how about this?



now does age(0) return the whole array?

Sixty Squares
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2006
Location: Somewhere in the world
Posted: 18th Aug 2006 20:44
Mousez() and Mousemovez()=middle mouse button

The Wilderbeast
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 18th Aug 2006 21:38
yeah i know, i wasn't actualy using the mousez() command thought. it just does it 4 sum reason. anyway, thanks for the feadback

Diggsey
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2006
Location: On this web page.
Posted: 19th Aug 2006 20:16
just define the variable as global, then you don't need to pass it between functions!

There are three types of people, those that can count and those that can't.
The Wilderbeast
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 19th Aug 2006 21:47 Edited at: 19th Aug 2006 21:48
arr. did i tell u i was using dbc? is that possible in dbc?
lol nice sig!!!

Sixty Squares
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2006
Location: Somewhere in the world
Posted: 19th Aug 2006 23:33 Edited at: 1st Oct 2008 04:56
ARG!!!

First, you cannot return an array. However, arrays are already global, so you wouldn't need to...
This would work:



The Wilderbeast
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 21st Aug 2006 13:19 Edited at: 21st Aug 2006 13:35
cheers, i'll try that out when i get some time

oh yeah, by the way... @sixty squares thanks for giving me support all the way throught my roject

Sixty Squares
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2006
Location: Somewhere in the world
Posted: 21st Aug 2006 17:49
You're welcome

The Wilderbeast
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 22nd Aug 2006 18:16
@sixty squares

first of all, i just saw your metal runner game. it looks great. keep up the good work!!!
also, how did you do the reflections as it may be helpful later on.

Sixty Squares
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2006
Location: Somewhere in the world
Posted: 22nd Aug 2006 18:23 Edited at: 22nd Aug 2006 18:24
Thanks for looking at it And umm... what reflections

The Wilderbeast
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 23rd Aug 2006 14:37

these reflections
althought i might just buy dbp

Sixty Squares
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2006
Location: Somewhere in the world
Posted: 23rd Aug 2006 16:05
There's no reflection there, but it looks nice doesn't it! It's a plain with a sky texture on it. The sky is black and light blue, instead of white and light blue. The plain is ghosted. Simple enough?

The Wilderbeast
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 23rd Aug 2006 16:36
very clever!!! thanks a lot

Sixty Squares
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2006
Location: Somewhere in the world
Posted: 23rd Aug 2006 16:39
No prob It's not really reflection, but some people think that it looks like a reflection, and that's fine.

The Wilderbeast
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 23rd Aug 2006 17:04
going back to your post on arrays. that won't work because th dim commands are also put in a function

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-03-29 14:54:41
Your offset time is: 2024-03-29 14:54:41