Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / limit to 3d objects+physics??

Author
Message
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 12th Jan 2019 21:24 Edited at: 12th Jan 2019 21:25
Could you let us know the story of the 3D Engine, how your 3D engine needs to work, what does it do and not do, what do you want to acheive to do
shadey
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 12th Jan 2019 21:25
btw,i was thinking along the plane way before posting these,but i dunno howto..lol

being it their 2 dimensional aspects..... and failing like hell with cubes
Hail to the king, baby!
fubarpk
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Playing: AGK is my friend
Posted: 12th Jan 2019 21:26
@ shadey without memblocks
fubar
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 12th Jan 2019 21:26
We will be fine, just relax...
shadey
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 12th Jan 2019 21:52 Edited at: 12th Jan 2019 22:08
my 3d engine,well,i plan to make games the easiest way poss,by just changing them values in the boxes, the mode box,set at a default of zero,will get a fps type game, a value of 1 will run a tilt to roll a ball type game, whilst 2 gets you a 3d platformer, 0 and 2 uses a physics character controller whilst 1 is just physics really! I can mess about and even switch game modes within levelrun,which i can do by pressing 't' to test level... anytime in the editor,so basically i precode every game mode before!but they all se the same functions of course.

This is all built on a simply grouping system also for objects

so group=1 would be the player.... 2 would be an enemy.... 3 a light.. and so forth!

edit boxes like value1 and value2 i can just do what the hell i want with
i can also master/slave an object so one controls the other kinda thing, well..the slave know who his master is..type of thing,for stuff like doors/levers

This engine will do whatever the hell i like,really,as there aint much difference in any game mode..
And to be truthful, I always wanted to do an editor,something about me doesnt like using other peoples.....



To get a game out of the editor,well i just copy all the functions i need,that already exist,and the save files and all that....
then code the front and backends for that specific game

no biggy

Though I plan in the future to maybe have the front and back ends make-able within the editor to save that ballache..

most other engines are so friggin bloated also,and you need some degree in whatever just to understand them,rubbish in my opinion
you need a pretty good pc for them to run, this engine of mine is running fine on a crappy windoze tablet,I can forget about running any other engine on it, seriously!!
I sometimes question other programmers of engines as to why..just.. WHY!!
Hail to the king, baby!
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 12th Jan 2019 22:08
Awesome - thanks for sharing about the aim of the editor, and its a super idea - Keep it up - I roll with creating tools, functions, methods to make life a little bit easier.

Let me have a review of this within myself and will get something to you tomorrow if real life doesnt sink...
shadey
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 12th Jan 2019 22:21 Edited at: 12th Jan 2019 22:43
I also have a 2D engine,feeling slighlty neglected,but basically coded with the exact same logic, just without the Z-Dimension.
Been at these for years on and off..heh!

here it is:


I got a double jump going on there that needs perfect timing...
I code on it on this crappy del lattitude as it wont do 3D,too damn old!

But i bit off more than I can chew coding both side by side,I shall call it Plan B..
Hail to the king, baby!
blink0k
Moderator
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
Posted: 12th Jan 2019 22:41
I think you just have to figure out which UV's have to be scaled by how much.
For example. If you look at the cube.obj file you supplied using note pad you will see there are 4 faces

The first face is the bottom of the cube.
The Verts go 1=Rear right, 2=Rear left, 3=Front left, 4=Front right

Matching that sequence the UV goes
1=Bottom Right, 2=Bottom Left, 3=Top Left, 4=Top Right (Top left is the origin)

So you have to figure out which UV to add the scaling to. If you were scaling 2X, 3Y, 4Z.
Y scaling doesn't apply to to the bottom face so you only need to deal with X, Z

So Top left is our origin so we don't change that, Everything else is calculated relative to that

Top left=Front left so Front left to Front right requires X scaling so add 2 to Top Right
Front Left to Rear Left requires Z scaling so add 4 to Bottom left
The remaining UV, Rear Right requires X and Z scaling so add 2 + 4 to Bottom Right

Then repeat that logic for the other faces

I know this seems like a pain but it's just what you have to do i think.
In the end you will have a list of UVs and if x, y, z or a combination of those need to added to it so all you need to do is zip though the UV's and add the appropriate scaling
shadey
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 12th Jan 2019 22:49 Edited at: 12th Jan 2019 22:57
that went straight over my head! example?!I kinda was digging around that area with the mesh things but never could get it right,like it is a triangle it was playing with and the texture was somehow mishaped onto it, the closest i got was one triangle on one side face done,but the other just wasnt having any of it! though i see an advantage with puzzlers method as it allows for diferrent textures as well as diferrent scalings and wont par say rely on just how the model was premade with assumptions
Hail to the king, baby!
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 12th Jan 2019 23:05 Edited at: 12th Jan 2019 23:11
meshmemblocks for bigger objects will be quite challenging - cause the AppGameKit Ray casting collisions commands goes well out of the window

But FPS is good isnt it. - which can ray cast to those coords - to find the object on the mesh

We need to re-invent the collisioning system by creating bounding boxes for each entity.

Plus for memblocks is just FPS otherwise stick to AppGameKit objects - but mult textural images will need 6 single sided Object Planes.

So per cube will require 6 objects rendered - FPS could get slower depending on the hugeness of the map

meshmemblocks of a 1000 cubes say requires 1 object rendered - FPS 100 x better

Its up to you which way you want to go
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 12th Jan 2019 23:08
Either stay with AppGameKit system as it is currently

or build a new meshmemblock collisioning system (heart ache I know) but once got the principle to achieve this then great

Im aiming all the time to acheive the latter
shadey
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 12th Jan 2019 23:12 Edited at: 12th Jan 2019 23:17
I was fine until i ran into that physics limit!
I will keep hacking away though, the last resort is just capping off the ends of the mess I created before, with a single scaled block,or even just use single blocks for the inner maze walls, as the method from that other guy is implemeted and will do for the whole outer walls plus floors and ceilings
Hail to the king, baby!
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 12th Jan 2019 23:14 Edited at: 12th Jan 2019 23:16
yes - there is a limit of around 1050.

The only because AppGameKit in the background of C# memory cant take it - limit is around 1050 objects per scene/sync

What would you like to achieve by the physics side of things?

EDIT - I notice you setting them as Static bodies anyway? Static to me is dont move about... so why apply a physic body to them - whats your idea here
shadey
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 12th Jan 2019 23:18 Edited at: 12th Jan 2019 23:22
honestly tis ok as it is,i have to think about as yo rightly point out, the frame rate of things, and having hndreds of objects aint good in any engine really
the statics are for collisions with the players character controller?things remain easy then as far as controls are concerned,i dont have to delve into too much maths then for stuff like steps and when one can jump and all that
Hail to the king, baby!
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 12th Jan 2019 23:21 Edited at: 12th Jan 2019 23:23
Lets create meshmemblock system for you

Will have to work and think hard on how collisions system

Do you want to be able to create a cube map map and then export to like an OBJ it to be able to use in future apps.

Is this a creation engine or a game?

EDIT - if a game engine, how do you save / export the map creation to use in other apps?
shadey
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 12th Jan 2019 23:23 Edited at: 12th Jan 2019 23:24
creation engine,that will create games of various genres,but honestly,just for my own personal amusement,unless I accidently create something awesome
Hail to the king, baby!
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 12th Jan 2019 23:24 Edited at: 12th Jan 2019 23:25
Awesome - we can certainly help .... keep smiling...

Forget the collisions - export to OBJ the final result

guys ..... This sounds good....
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 12th Jan 2019 23:29
We will need a OBJ loader to look after the MTL file - incase its got material/textures in the OBJ file

All good
shadey
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 12th Jan 2019 23:29 Edited at: 12th Jan 2019 23:31
I am certaintly giving it all the stuff i think will make it easier,

The system I made for the master/slave relationship of objects is for one,pretty frigging handy

I can point to an object in the editor with the mouse and clone the 3d cursor to whatever object is under it,taking on all the target objects attributes,this saved me sod loads of time, can do whatever operations on multiselected objects too,which i select simply by pressing on the object with the right mouse button,once selected,delete or change the values of the edit boxes ...
stuff like that.. also it saves and loads the level..kinda basic needs for an editor innit that one!
Hail to the king, baby!
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 12th Jan 2019 23:30
@Shadey, nothing is impossible... we will get there for you

puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 12th Jan 2019 23:32
So you made the eingine, what do you do with that consttruction then to make the construction into an App - so you save it somehow to be able to use it in an app - import
shadey
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 12th Jan 2019 23:34
also,though not shown in any video,i can place or delete 3d particles....
Hail to the king, baby!
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 12th Jan 2019 23:37 Edited at: 12th Jan 2019 23:40
Excellent - but and engine to me is construction - then export to be able to use the resulting construction in a seperate app.

Am I missing something - is that what you want to acheive? what with the particles too.

You trying to make an interpreter within AGKs interpreter?

Like Click and Play apps? by our good ole fellow Francois Lionet - AMOS Guru
shadey
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 12th Jan 2019 23:41 Edited at: 13th Jan 2019 00:52
i save the whole type for the object to a file,like so:

here are the save and load functions




i have already tested it all in a single app running a level and it is fine!
all i do is copy the save and load functions,and whatever other,to a new project,along with the vars i need and media used,including the .lev file created by the editor which sits somewhere in %appdata%.....well that is it really...
Hail to the king, baby!
fubarpk
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Playing: AGK is my friend
Posted: 12th Jan 2019 23:43
using my box.obj
and


changes the texture and displays it as a sprite I think you should be able to do similar with your obj and apply the new texture
fubar
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 12th Jan 2019 23:47
Thats profically impressive, so you save this data to a file and then use another app to load this data to make an app function...

Awesome Shadey? brings back memories.

so, we just struggling with physics/texture UVs then?...

Is it only going to be a cube structure?
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 12th Jan 2019 23:48
Thanks for other inputs Blink0K and Fubarpk

shadey
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 12th Jan 2019 23:49 Edited at: 12th Jan 2019 23:51
yeh,any other object will be simply cloned as is,bt basically that is the whole system,at least the way my amatureish coding skills would conjure up..heh!,i still have shivvers up my spine just seeing sqr root stuff
Hail to the king, baby!
shadey
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 12th Jan 2019 23:52
thanks too all of you for helping again, in what really is a drop in the ocean to what i have left to do!!
Hail to the king, baby!
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 12th Jan 2019 23:53 Edited at: 12th Jan 2019 23:54
Well dont let things shiver up your spine... Knowledge is powerful Shadey - dont dismiss that

You obviously took the complicated route instead of learning gradually
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 12th Jan 2019 23:59
We be alright - promise
shadey
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 13th Jan 2019 00:04 Edited at: 13th Jan 2019 00:08
@puzzler, I am all old school,51 years old, yet i still ride a skateboard..lol..helps with the arthritis
And as my doctor once remarked, it beats a zimmerframe...
Hail to the king, baby!
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 13th Jan 2019 00:06
@Shadey - it states 8 years on your profile - what you been working on mainly all those 8 years?
shadey
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 13th Jan 2019 00:09 Edited at: 13th Jan 2019 00:11
that editor,well them 2,the 2d and 3d one..but..well..give or take the odd triple bypass on my heart,homelessness.. all that life stuff ya know?

the final 2 editors are actually way better than the crap i coded at first though,I had to improve my coding,i was in a silly habit of making functions left right and centre,instead of just passing values and acting on them in the one function.. foolish really
Hail to the king, baby!
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 13th Jan 2019 00:09
Im 42
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 13th Jan 2019 00:10
Do we feel crap?
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 13th Jan 2019 00:12
dang.... My step dad struggled with bypasses - hope your ok, stay strong my fellow
shadey
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 13th Jan 2019 00:12
yep..had to give up my beloved 5 a side football at 49,after meeting up every week since i was 18, such sadness!
Hail to the king, baby!
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 13th Jan 2019 00:14
JANBO - has health issues too. Please let us know how you are Janbo?
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 13th Jan 2019 00:15
Stay strong, positive, motivated,
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 13th Jan 2019 00:33 Edited at: 13th Jan 2019 00:33
Nearly there promise

Attachments

Login to view attachments
shadey
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 13th Jan 2019 00:43
cool! so how many objects do i need in the end?!
Hail to the king, baby!
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 13th Jan 2019 00:50 Edited at: 13th Jan 2019 00:52
meshmemblock, each for this version of a box, will be something x 92 bytes with all its data

and a mesh as a maximum of 100,000,000 bytes of GPU memory per draw call

So thats around 1,086 cubes per mesh

We could multiple meshes - the GPU loves drawcalls,- its how we implement multiple meshes - how you think
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 13th Jan 2019 00:56
Just give you some inspriration


Attachments

Login to view attachments
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 13th Jan 2019 00:58
FPS not shit...
shadey
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 13th Jan 2019 01:00 Edited at: 13th Jan 2019 01:05
sounds hefty,does blink0k or fubarpk have a valid way? or is it seemingly not?! I mean performance wise i could go with the function by chafari and just have the 2 faces repeat,top and bottom,this gives me at least a whole roof and floor and outer wall requiring just object each ,rotating as required, which just leaves me the inner maze walls,shouldnt be many objects there,with a mix of scaled+single objects to cover up the bleeeeeds!!!
Hail to the king, baby!
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 13th Jan 2019 01:03
Catch up Later in the year
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 13th Jan 2019 01:05
Good luck
shadey
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 13th Jan 2019 01:06
huh?!!!
Hail to the king, baby!
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 13th Jan 2019 01:09
Its Blin0k and Furbarpk asked that i would be suitable to solve your issue

isnt my solution suited

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-24 15:03:20
Your offset time is: 2024-04-24 15:03:20