Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Professional Discussion / - DBPro Coding Challenges -

Author
Message
Neofish
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Apr 2004
Location: A swimming pool of coke
Posted: 10th Nov 2005 00:25
i dont like the challenge so im going to write something else

Ric
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jul 2004
Location: object position x
Posted: 10th Nov 2005 01:43 Edited at: 10th Nov 2005 02:08
Update:

-Improved overall appearance slightly - the walls are more jagged rather than just flat, and the textures seem to work a bit better now.
-Made it more playable - the reason no-one could get very far is that the collision detection at the checkpoints wasn't working before - so no extra time was being added on - sorted now!
-Improved controls - the ship is a bit more responsive
-Improved chase cam so you appear closer to the action
-Also, the yellow lights now correspond to the highest level you can fly at - so they give an indication of whether you can make it over a barrier or not

Keys are as before: arrow keys to move, shift to accelerate.



Anything above a score of 100 is pretty good going - my best so far is 180.

IBOL
Retired Moderator
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location: @IBOL17
Posted: 10th Nov 2005 09:19
well ric, for me all it does is look good.
the ship never goes anywhere...
it's little exhaust comes out, and the timer coutns down
but it never goes up, down, left, right, forward, or backward.
bob

Ric
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jul 2004
Location: object position x
Posted: 10th Nov 2005 10:43
Really? Can't think why ... works fine on both my computers. You are using the shift key to accelerate, aren't you?

Segan
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posted: 11th Nov 2005 05:55 Edited at: 11th Nov 2005 05:55
@Ric I managed to get 200! Muahahaha

@Everyone: Well, life has got to me this week, so I am very sorry to say that I won't be able to be finishing my entry... Good news is that it looks like I'm much less busy next week, so I might be able to finally get a complete one in!
Ric
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jul 2004
Location: object position x
Posted: 11th Nov 2005 23:43
Woah - good score! Better than I've managed!

Nicholas Thompson
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: Bognor Regis, UK
Posted: 12th Nov 2005 00:27
I manage 167.. I think we have a winner... again!! :-( Lol.

Gil Galvanti
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Dec 2004
Location: Texas, United States
Posted: 12th Nov 2005 20:24
I got 188, nice game, Ric .

Video games…they take you places unreachable, unfeasible. Putting you in the book...putting you in the movie...putting you in a world, that before could only be imagined. expage.com/piratesmainpage.
CPU
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jul 2003
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posted: 12th Nov 2005 23:05
Ok entry time!!

Here's my lil entry only about 4200 lines or so, shouldn't be that big of a deal.

Anyways, be sure to watch the whole intro, it's pretty neat, and here's the keys as I set them up, (If you know the scancodes it's rather easy to change them)

Pitch Up: Up Arrow Key
Pitch Down: Down Arrow Key
Turn Right: Right Arrow Key
Turn Left: Left Arrow Key

Slide Left(roll): 4 (on numpad)
Slide Right(roll): 6 (on numpad)
Slide Up: 8 (on numpad)
Slide Down: 2 (on numpad)

Forward/Accelerate: right altKey
Fire Lasers: right ctrlKey
Fire Photon Torpedos: Return Key (remember only two shots)

Toggel Autopilot: 'A' key
Toggel Free Camera Rotation: 'C' key
Toggel Message Panel: 'M' key
Change Ships: 'S' key (note: it auto changes if your ship dies)
Pause Game: 'P' key

Pitch Camera Up: 'I' key
Pitch Camera Down: 'K' key
Turn Camera Right: 'L' key
Turn Camera Left: 'J' key
Roll Camera Right: ']' key
Roll Camera Left: '[' key

Move Camera Up: 'Insert' key
Move Camera Down: 'Delete' key
Move Camera Right: 'Home' key
Move Camera Left: 'End' key
Move Camera Forward: 'Page Up' key
Move Camera Backward: 'Page Down' key

ARGGGG.... Dang line limit -- "Your message is too long, please shorten it in length"

Ok so I'll have to upload a DBA file, try to forgive me...

CPU

[center]K-OS Battlefields
IS
///---///---///---UNDER CONSTRUCTION---\\\---\\\---\\\
[center]

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Lord Raoul
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Oct 2002
Location:
Posted: 13th Nov 2005 00:02
I was going to enter this but I think I have left it a bit late now. I will have to see what I can do.

@Ric - Good job, I kept crashing but it was fun.

@CPU - Code looks impressive but won't compile for me, there are two or three typos that I can fix but then there is an error with the loop that I don't understand.
Nicholas Thompson
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: Bognor Regis, UK
Posted: 13th Nov 2005 00:14
CPU - couldn't you have used the code box underneath? Its only buggy if your account is still in "noob" status?

CPU
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jul 2003
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posted: 13th Nov 2005 00:29 Edited at: 13th Nov 2005 00:33
I KNOW there are no typos, I compiled it (worked fine), hit save, and uploaded, nothing more than that, so it had to be a problem during transfer... I know that I've had these errors before, my guess being that it take 'sync' and 'until' and some filtering software puts them together getting 's_y_n_ _ _ _ _i_l' with the bad word ' * * * ' or something like that in there... but thats as much as I can figure out, I'll try the codebox, but it wasn't my status, I'm definatly past the 'noob' stage besides the fact that I've been here longer than you NT ; But it came back and said "Your message is too long, please shorten it in length" in nice red letters.

Anyways trying again, (I'll repost the dba file as well, I added comments between 'sync' and 'until' so hopefully that helps everyone...

CPU

[edit]
GRRRR.... the code box doesn't work, it doesn't contain all my code, it just got cut off at some point, here, I'll make two posts and split my code, just copy the first post's code and paste it, then the second section right after it... for those that are to lazy to download the dba file...

[center]K-OS Battlefields
IS
///---///---///---UNDER CONSTRUCTION---\\\---\\\---\\\
[center]

Attachments

Login to view attachments
CPU
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jul 2003
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posted: 13th Nov 2005 00:35
First 2400 or so lines:



[center]K-OS Battlefields
IS
///---///---///---UNDER CONSTRUCTION---\\\---\\\---\\\
[center]
CPU
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jul 2003
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posted: 13th Nov 2005 00:36 Edited at: 13th Nov 2005 00:41
And about 2000 more:



[center]K-OS Battlefields
IS
///---///---///---UNDER CONSTRUCTION---\\\---\\\---\\\
[center]
Zotoaster
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2004
Location: Scotland
Posted: 13th Nov 2005 00:45
noo, it wont work for me! "command out of place at line 595"


Nicholas Thompson
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: Bognor Regis, UK
Posted: 13th Nov 2005 00:46
Its not bad!! I like the intri!!

Few points:
1) Is it timer based? It runs stupidly quick on my PC so I kinda read every 5th line of the intro..
2) I kinda flew along and fired a bit - but thats it.. no targets as far as I could see..

Also - I had to enable line concatenation in my editor (default IDE).

CPU
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jul 2003
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posted: 13th Nov 2005 01:12
@Ztoaster - so like can you post a little more than that?

@NT - Yeah, I did use line concatenation, some of the commands, get, erm, kinda long. The intro is not timer based, unfortunatly, so hmm... find function intro() and add 'sync rate 60' at the top and 'sync rate 0' at the bottom.

1) The flight and ingame code is all timer based, the intro however is not.
2) If you pick an Xwing then TIE fighters start behind you, all the turrets you can blast to smittherenes (those boxes that shoot green blasts at you) and if you see any TIE fighters that get in front of you, well their more than fair game. If you chose to be a TIE fighter the Xwings start in front of you, sometimes they get ahead so keep after them, the distance remaining on the bottom of your screen tells you how much further to the exaust port, and how much time before the deathstar gets within fireing range. Also, try out the autopilot, its realy cool to watch. And almost all the commands in the game (such as adjusting the camera, switching autopilot on/off, ship switching) can be done while paused, as well as while not paused, experiment!

CPU

[center]K-OS Battlefields
IS
///---///---///---UNDER CONSTRUCTION---\\\---\\\---\\\
[center]
Zotoaster
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2004
Location: Scotland
Posted: 13th Nov 2005 03:07
well, all it does is highlight the "endif" command.. and that's it, it gives me an error and won't let me run it..


Tinkergirl
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jul 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 13th Nov 2005 12:00
Good lord, CPU!

That's amazing! It cries out for sound, but even so - it blows my mind away. Your X-Wings are ace, the tie fighters equally ace, the fact that they're both instantly recognisable with no-media is phenomenal.

At first go, I found it hard to play - the fact that you don't get killed for bumping into the barriers is a bit unrealistic, but I'm sure I wouldn't have made it anywhere otherwise There's so many keys and commands I'd need to take the time to get used to it - but I'll probably do just that

Oh - and the intro, ship/side chooser, and combat talk from your fellow rebels (or Imperial?) is super cool.


Anyone having trouble running it - if you're in the default IDE, go to system tools and enable concatenation (its at the bottom) - make sure the "_" symbol is the one you want (not the default "..."). I'd never gone into that menu before, so it was a big shock - especially as it wanted to forget about line numbers and highlighting after that!
Zotoaster
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2004
Location: Scotland
Posted: 13th Nov 2005 12:57
Holy crap!! That is amazing! Took me a while to get used to the controls though... and I still don't think I'm used to them

Great work.


Darkbasic MADPSP
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jun 2005
Location: Uk
Posted: 13th Nov 2005 13:15
What is the challenge currently?

Dbpro, Dbc and C++ coder
Desert conflict fps wip board
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=63878&b=8
Tinkergirl
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jul 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 13th Nov 2005 13:20
Recreate the Star Wars Death Star trench run - but I think the deadline is tonight. (UK time)
Darkbasic MADPSP
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jun 2005
Location: Uk
Posted: 13th Nov 2005 13:25
ok i can't enter this i'm to busy on my other projects including free seamless terrains
for all you forum members

Dbpro, Dbc and C++ coder
Desert conflict fps wip board
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=63878&b=8
Freddy 007
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posted: 13th Nov 2005 14:06
What can I say, CPU.... That's just insane!

Now you're officially a Killer Coding Ninja Monkey!


I can't be fired... Slaves are SOLD!
Kaiyodo
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 13th Nov 2005 15:34
There's been some fantastic entires so far, I'm really impressed. Just to confirm that the challenge finishes at midnight GMT tonight. If I'm still up then I'll post the results shortly after, if I'm not it'll be tomorrow

Kaiyodo.
RiiDii
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jan 2005
Location: Inatincan
Posted: 13th Nov 2005 18:57
CPU: I have to say I think you have just won the grand prize as probably the best entry in this competition to date. That is AMAZING!!!


Open MMORPG: It's your game!
Zotoaster
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2004
Location: Scotland
Posted: 13th Nov 2005 20:48
I must say though, ric's controls are much smoother


Segan
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posted: 14th Nov 2005 00:11
@Zoaster *Jaw drops*


@Nicholas Since I obviously had not enough time to complete the competition (or win at any rate), I decided to play around with the "timer based movement" stuff. For those of us (like me) who are used to just sticking a "sync rate" command at the top and then letting the program take care of movement itself, here is a different option:



That way, you can use "movement per frame" instead of "movement per second." I'm just now toying with which kind I like better.

Also, I was just wondering, but is there any advantage (other than the ability to play on systems that are a bit slower) to using this other than just using sync rate? I know that the disadvantage to this is that if you have a particularily long frame (system slows down for a second), stuff like flying through walls is possible.

Oh, and if I should be talking about this somewhere else, just say the word and this discussion goes there!
Kaiyodo
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 14th Nov 2005 00:25
Timer based movement code doesn't just help slower machines, it also allows smoother framerate independant of the monitor refresh rate. My monitor runs at 85Hz so putting in a sync rate of 60 would give a slightly juddery framerate as DB would only update the screen every 1.4 monitor refreshes.

Using timer based code allows db to refresh the screen as often as it can, which will be the refresh rate of the monitor in fullscreen mode (this doesn't apply in windowed mode, but it does let you get super high framerates )

Kaiyodo.
RiiDii
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jan 2005
Location: Inatincan
Posted: 14th Nov 2005 00:36
Quote: "Oh, and if I should be talking about this somewhere else, just say the word and this discussion goes there!"

As long as it's related to the challenges and doesn't hijack the thread.

I wrote a function once that kept track of all the timers for each object desired. It worked a lot like yours, except the return values were specific for each object. That way, let's say early in the code, there was a particularly time consuming function - most of the time. Then the CPUSpeed# value would be fine as long as that function worked on it's normally slow pace. But if for some reason the function hit all it's If/Then's as false and didn't have to process much during a given cycle, then the remaining object movements based on the CPUSpeed# would be thrown off. Suddenly gravity would take a turn for the worse and other problems like flying through walls would occur.

So the function I wrote that tracked the cycle time seperately for each object was called immediately before moving the object so that an accurate cycle time would be calculated for each object.

This was also particularly usefull when I added in a resource management routine that would update different resources each cycle. For example, on cycle 1, it would update the terrain. On cycle 2, it would update trees. On cycle 3, it would update water. On cycle 4, it would update half the AI. On cycle 6, it would update the other half of the AI. And so on. So each cycle was planned to take up to 32 milliseconds (about 30 FPS), but obviously since each cycle would have different updates, there would be inconsistancy from cycle to cycle.


Open MMORPG: It's your game!
Kaiyodo
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 14th Nov 2005 01:04
Judging time is upon us!

I count 6 entires for this challenge from Ric, RiiDii, CPU, Tinkergirl, Segan and Nicholas. I shall start in reverse order as is traditional ..

In third place ..


In second place ...


And the winner ...


Well that's the end of this one, well done to all those that entered for the exceptional entires. For the next challenge it's over to the winner ...
Segan
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posted: 14th Nov 2005 01:07 Edited at: 14th Nov 2005 01:09
Well, it seems like I should have looked before I posted. Just after I posted my subject about timers, I found a tutorial on them in one of the past newsletters. D'OH!

@Riidii I get how that would be useful in your second example (if objects were not being consistantly updated each loop), but I still don't get how, if every object is updated every loop, how giving each its own timer would affect its performance... My reasoning says that if one part of the code sped up, then all of the object's timers would also speed up by approximately the same amount, which is the same amount that a general timer would speed up by, providing the same results... Am I missing something here???

@CPU Congrats on the win! That was and EXCELLENG game, especially considering the two weeks you had! I can't wait to see what you are going to come up with for the next competition (because I think I will have time for this one!!!)
Ric
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jul 2004
Location: object position x
Posted: 14th Nov 2005 02:07
Well done CPU - impressive work, and a well deserved win. And 4000+ lines .... that's bigger than anything I've EVER done, never mind just in these challenges!

So ..... what's the next challenge, then?

CPU
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jul 2003
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posted: 14th Nov 2005 02:19
Awww.. It wasn't that much for just two weeks

No, really it, erm, consumed a lot of time to make that entry... Possibly the hardest part was building that X wing fighter, I actually wrote a separate file that I used to work on the X wing builder function, that and the custom mesh primitive commands I've accumulated over this and my fractal tree entrees...

Anyways, thanks for all the great comments, And I'll probably end up posting this in the program announcements forums just for kicks... so go look at it if you have the chance

Ok Challenge time:

!!!!! 'Primitive' Design !!!!!


Ok the challenge is simple:

Basically, use the inbuilt DBPro primitive commands to build the 'best' 3D 'modeling' program, by 'modeling' you should be able to add, delete, and move basic primitive objects. It should at least be functional enough to be able to build a castle (square walls, space in the wall for a gate, cone turrets on the corners). Extra bonus kudos if you can do all manipulation of the primitives with just the mouse (including moving objects up and down ) A selection of media-less textures would be helpful, but not required, saving would again be nice, but not required, Scaling and rotating would be highly recommended but not required, a visual flat grid and or visual indicators as to how your manipulating your primitive would be recommend but not required. An interactive menu would also be nice but not at all required. I hope your starting to get the basic idea with some added spice for your code

So well, this is a ‘somewhat’ difficult challenge, depending on how far or short you take it, the basic requirements are easy enough, its how much extra spice and userfriendlyness that’ll make or break your code.

I’ll give it two weeks, to be finished at noon server time (Ex, if you set your forum time offset to zero in your profile) hopefully, everyone will be able to figure it out for there respective timezones

Good luck to ye all, and may the force be with you

CPU

[center]K-OS Battlefields
IS
///---///---///---UNDER CONSTRUCTION---\\\---\\\---\\\
[center]
Nicholas Thompson
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: Bognor Regis, UK
Posted: 14th Nov 2005 07:58
Oooo nice challenge!!

Phaelax
DBPro Master
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Apr 2003
Location: Metropia
Posted: 14th Nov 2005 12:22
Quote: "Anyone having trouble running it - if you're in the default IDE, go to system tools and enable concatenation (its at the bottom) - make sure the "_" symbol is the one you want (not the default "..."). "


no menu option here for that.

Why did you have to put "..." after all your friggin comments?
now i gotta fix all the concat symbols, screw this.

I've tried a terrain modeller before. Just displaying a matrix with a tick for each vert was extremely slow. So as far as displaying vertices, its not gonna be very easy to make it efficient.


Deadly Night Assassins
CPU
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jul 2003
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posted: 14th Nov 2005 14:55 Edited at: 14th Nov 2005 15:00
@Phaelax - NONONONO!!! not vertex manipulation! I'm only asking for the ability to create and move the inbuilt DBPro primitive objects, basic stuff, if you get to vertex manipulation why not just make a full flegged modeler and sell it? Anyways, I've posted a COMPILED EXE in the program anoucements if you realy want to try my game out.

CPU

[edit] In the default DBPro editor, go to Tools, then System Options, the very last checkbox says "Enable Source Line Concatenation Directive" - Make sure that it is checked. Below that there is a little box, It has text before it saying "Concatenation Symbol" - make sure that it has the '_' symbol in it.

[center]K-OS Battlefields
IS
///---///---///---UNDER CONSTRUCTION---\\\---\\\---\\\
[center]
Phaelax
DBPro Master
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Apr 2003
Location: Metropia
Posted: 14th Nov 2005 15:22 Edited at: 14th Nov 2005 15:24
Quote: "In the default DBPro editor, go to Tools, then System Options, the very last checkbox says "Enable Source Line Concatenation Directive""


where? see my problem?

image of tools


Deadly Night Assassins

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Tinkergirl
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jul 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 14th Nov 2005 15:45
You using 5.8, Phaelax?
Nicholas Thompson
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: Bognor Regis, UK
Posted: 14th Nov 2005 16:57
its a feature of the IDE, not the compiler. The compiler is 5.8 or 5.9b3. The IDE is 1.0.9.2 I think... With a 1.1.0.2 unofficial upgrade (I THINK).

The option does exist as I enabled it to run it on mine. Its also the reason I dont use it anymore hehe.

CPU
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jul 2003
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posted: 14th Nov 2005 18:38
I see your problem, not much I can suggest, other than try blue or some other IDE, that is realy wierd though, I'm not sure why it's like that. But like I said though, if you want to try out the program I posted an exe in the Program Anouncements section.

CPU

[center]K-OS Battlefields
IS
///---///---///---UNDER CONSTRUCTION---\\\---\\\---\\\
[center]
Ric
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jul 2004
Location: object position x
Posted: 14th Nov 2005 23:22
Interesting challenge CPU. cOuld be quite a tricky one I think, so I don't know how many entries we'll get on this one - but I'll certainly give it a go. The end product, if anyone gets to an end product, could be quite useful.

CPU
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jul 2003
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posted: 14th Nov 2005 23:58
If you stripped it down to bare bones it wouldn't be that hard, an array to hold object numbers, two keys to move up and down the list (selection) six keys to move the object around, a key to delete an object, and a few to add an object, should be in reach of almost everybody, but its how decked out it gets is the question.

CPU

[center]K-OS Battlefields
IS
///---///---///---UNDER CONSTRUCTION---\\\---\\\---\\\
[center]
Philip
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jun 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 15th Nov 2005 00:05
I'm surprised that nobody has suggested a Christmas Card challenge yet. Making innovative Christmas messages in DBPro would be great fun.

Cheer if you like bears! Cheer if you like jam sandwiches!
RiiDii: "I highly recommend Philip's vector tutorials"
P3.2ghz / 1 gig / GeForce FX 5900 128meg / WinXP home
Nicholas Thompson
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: Bognor Regis, UK
Posted: 15th Nov 2005 00:38
Do bears celebrate christmas? Thought it was against their religion? Or was that hunting season....

CPU
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jul 2003
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posted: 15th Nov 2005 02:26
Actualy thanksgiving cards might be more appropriate... but perhaps for the next chalange...

[center]K-OS Battlefields
IS
///---///---///---UNDER CONSTRUCTION---\\\---\\\---\\\
[center]
Ric
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jul 2004
Location: object position x
Posted: 15th Nov 2005 03:58
Nothing much yet, but it's a start. Quite pleased with the clickable buttons, though!



TDK
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2002
Location: UK
Posted: 15th Nov 2005 20:19
Any others participating in this challenge besides Ric and myself?

I'm pretty useless at writing games, so that's why I didn't take part in the last challenge.

I'm more at home with utilities though - right down my street...

TDK_Man

CPU
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jul 2003
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posted: 15th Nov 2005 20:22 Edited at: 15th Nov 2005 20:26
Tis a good start Ric, the buttons are captaly done ...

A little hint though to those making a base grid: If you make a triangle with zero surface area (ie make object triangle obj, 0,0,0,0,1,0,0,0,0 `would be a line going from 0,0,0 to 0,1,0) turn wireframe on, and disable cull, and then texture it with a 'color' image (a solid color image) you can then have 3D colored lines...

But I'll let you figure out how implementation would actualy work

CPU

[edit] @TDK - just saw your post... Hopefully some others will stop arguing about how my trench runner won't compile without string concation on and whatever else and try to make a respectable entry, I tried to make the basic requirements as simple as possible, yet having enough room for the advanced coders to still have a chalange...

[center]K-OS Battlefields
IS
///---///---///---UNDER CONSTRUCTION---\\\---\\\---\\\
[center]
Phaelax
DBPro Master
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Apr 2003
Location: Metropia
Posted: 15th Nov 2005 22:01
Quote: "Hopefully some others will stop arguing about how my trench runner won't compile "


I stopped worrying about it, but everyone else keeps going on about it.

I plan on jumping into this challenge if I have the time.


Deadly Night Assassins

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-23 23:06:29
Your offset time is: 2024-11-23 23:06:29