Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Exiting application from a function

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Apr 2008 19:45
I was wondering if it was possible to exit the program from within a function. Is there a command that will exit the program so that return does not have to be manually used within the main or darkgdk function?
Lilith
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Apr 2008 21:18
There is the exit(int condition) function. I'd use it advisedly as any c++ space that you may have allocated may need to be de-allocated.

Lilith, Night Butterfly
I'm not a programmer but I play one in the office
jinzai
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Apr 2008 22:26
Use the function PostQuitMessage.
Michael P
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Apr 2008 23:13 Edited at: 14th Apr 2008 23:13
Problem with 'PostQuitMessage' is that it runs through from that point onwards all of the code until it reaches the end; if it encounters a never ending loop it will loop until manually closed.

'Exit' seemed to work fine. What is the difference between that and using the 'return' function in the main block of code?
jinzai
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Apr 2008 23:42
I still maintain that you should use PostQuitMessage, and return from your routine that has run into trouble.

The difference is that with exit, you do not release any resources, and therefore, you will leak memory and resources.
Lilith
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Apr 2008 23:48