Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Game Design Theory / save the artwork for last...

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 5th Sep 2008 06:37 Edited at: 5th Sep 2008 06:42
I have been writting at games for over 15 years. In the past, I approached the design of my game with Graphics first. The sad part about this is, my 2D/3D Art Skills are lacking compared to my programming skill. Needless to say, a majority of projects deteriorated into vapor.

This is not happening with my latest Project, DarkMORG. I been grueling away at my Game Design and Code for over 6 months. I have never been so dedicated. The funny part about this is that I have absolutely nothing to show for it - literally. I have been focusing on networking, logic, and other game play mechanics that have nothing to do with how the game looks.

So if you having a hard time visualizing your game, save the artwork for last and start working on the game play mechanics.

Visit The Official DarkMORG - MMORPG FPS Server/Client WIP Thread
wind27382
Years of Service
User Offline
why don't u get the game running with little squares and circle. then ask artist for help

wind
TechLord
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 5th Sep 2008 09:44 Edited at: 5th Sep 2008 09:47
Quote: "why don't u get the game running with little squares and circle. then ask artist for help"
I am and that falls exactly in line with my point of saving the artwork for last.

Deathead
Years of Service
User Offline
Never ever, leave the artwork till last, as you need artwork to design your 3d characters etc.

"Your greatest teacher is your harshest critic"-Butterfingers
tha_rami
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 5th Sep 2008 20:06