Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / Oriental fantasy project

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Feb 2009 22:33 Edited at: 23rd Jul 2010 00:45
So it's my first time to create a thread inside the WIP board. I'm usually to be found in the 3d section of the TGC forum.
But I also have my own projects, on which I like to work when ever I have a little time to spare.
Today I like to show my oriental fantasy project on which I've been working on for several months.

VIDEO:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VbbSUTMTrw8
[ Music by NGXMUSICAL]

VIDEO 2 (April 09)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YEeVVWPefdc

VIDEO 3 (July 09)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hLLAdNqb2Bc

When you see the screenshot you might think "oriental fantasy ?"...Yes, I know it looks very japanese. But since I'm not japanese myself, and I want to avoid any mistakes regarding history/tradition/culture this will simply be a fantasy setting.
What you see at the moment is nothing more than a viewer. I could say this will be a 3rd person "game" but to keep it realistic I'm saying this will turn out as some sort of 3rd person walk through. Probably you will be able to interact with the environment/npc(s)...but as said, since I'm working and most of my free time goes to 3d commissions and private life...we'll just see where it goes.
At the moment it has a distance blur, or should I say crippled DOF.
The normal map shader I'm using allows 2 textures on a secondary UV set. I'm planning to use 1 of them for rendered global illumination maps. I was hoping to implement bloom, but scrapped that idea since post effects are pretty taxing in DBPRO. The world will be separated in sections/zones, pretty much like in the old Resident Evil games.