Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / Using the CLI

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Can someone explain how to use the CLI? The user manual is not too helpful. I searched the forum but I could not find any post that explain it usage.
That1Smart Guy
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Apr 2009 03:58
prolly a dumb question but wat is the CLI?

There are only 10 kinds of people in the world, those who understand binary and those who dont
t10dimensional
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Apr 2009 04:02
i think its the thing it goes to after testing your game.

im new at this
Latch
Years of Service
User Offline
The Command Line Interface (CLI) is actually quite a useful tool. It allows you test out code in real time. It's helpful for debugging and trying out different things.

Let's do a few experiments to see how it works. First, copy this code into DarkEDIT or the standard DB editor:

Now, before launching the program, you may want to print or write down the following tests. Once you have the information, go ahead and run the program and try out these tests:

1. Activate the CLI
Once the program is running, you'll see a make-shift forest on a grid. Move the camera around with the Up/Down arrow keys and steer with the mouse.

Now press ESCAPE

The CLI will open. You'll have noticed that the mouse is moving around the screen as you were steering the camera. Without rewriting code in our source script, we can send a command directly through the CLI to do what we want. In this case, we'll hide the mouse.

Type : hide mouse
Press ENTER

Now Press ESCAPE again

You are back in the forest and you'll see the mouse is hidden. Move around a bit so you can see the prgram is running just fine.