Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Jan 2011 22:56 Edited at: 8th Jan 2011 23:07
What actually are Dwords and Words? The help files on datatypes don't cover it.

Also, how did I only just notice DBP can do this:

Instead of:

Where were we hiding that kind of programming? - I've been coding in DBP for like 6 or 7 years and never seen boolean statements like that or known DBP can use C++ syntax. xD!

Green Gandalf
VIP Member
Years of Service
User Offline
Playing: Malevolence:Sword of Ahkranox, Skyrim, Civ6.
Posted: 8th Jan 2011 23:11
Quote: "The help files on datatypes don't cover it."

From the Help file Datatype section

A word is two bytes, a dword is four bytes or 32 bits.

Quote: "Also, how did I only just notice DBP can do this:"

I've no idea.
C0wbox
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Jan 2011 23:18 Edited at: 8th Jan 2011 23:24
Ach, I must have missed it. - I saw a large chunk of blue and thought it was sample code for the integer stuff above.

Thanks.

EDIT:
So basically they're just different sizes of integers yeah? :o (This is what I've never seen help on or had explained.)

Also, why is it I see things like the color backdrop command asking for Dword inputs when for colour? - Does rgb() just return a big number or something?

Green Gandalf
VIP Member
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Jan 2011 23:42
Quote: "Does rgb() just return a big number or something?"

In effect yes. The four bytes are alpha, red, green and blue.

Quote: "So basically they're just different sizes of integers yeah?"

Not really. Integers can be negative. If you examine the ranges for the two types they have the same number of values, just interpreted differently.
C0wbox