Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Models and Media / Tutorial: Run TESTgame in High Resolution (Image heavy)

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th Dec 2012 13:41 Edited at: 26th Dec 2012 13:45
Hi all,

I repeadetly read that it`s not possibly to run the Test game in higher resolutions than 1024*768. However, this is not true, in fact it`s very easy to change the resolution for testgame, I have been using higher test resolutions for many years now. You can even have a default set to your desktop resolution automatically, which should be the native resolution of your LED / TFT panel anyway.

This is very handsome when testing your own self-textured models or retexturings, because otherwise you really would have to build the game in order to find out how good the job of yours really is, as some texture glitches can`t be seen in the lowRes game.

1. Step

Edit the Gamedebug section of your setup.ini to look similar to this:

Note that I have put a resolution of 1920*1200.
My usual developement machine has 1680*1050, my test latop 1600*900 and the presentation Panel I use for press visits
runs in 1920*1200, so the last one is my max.
Aspectratio=1 provides a more "realistic" viewfield.

Note: Flag=4 should activate AA, I had the feeling it worked, not sure anymore, however it doesnt disturb, so lets keep it there.

2. Step:

Save your file, but keep the notepad open. RUN FPSC and load your level. The screen should look like that:

Note that the editor with the opened setup.ini is next to the FPSC icon in your taskbar.
Taskswitching is the key to success here, and I`ll show you how:

3., 4. and 5. Step: