Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / Camera Obscura - my game on Steam Greenlight

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th Jan 2013 03:20 Edited at: 25th Feb 2013 19:00
Hey all,

Hopefully some of you remember me, I haven't been as active around here recently .

I wanted to plug a game I've been working on for almost two years with a small team of students from UC Irvine. We started it at a game jam through the Video Game Development club, and we liked the mechanic so much we just kept working on it.

Camera Obscura is a puzzle-platformer that revolves around a unique mechanic that allows the player to activate a camera flash so bright that it creates "afterimages" of all visible platforms. These platforms are solid enough to walk on, and they can be moved around for a short time, mimicking the player's movements. This ability allows players to cross wide chasms, reach high platforms, and otherwise alter the shape of the environment to accomplish the ultimate goal - reaching the top of the mysterious Tower. Check out this gameplay footage to get a better idea: Youtube.

We put up the game's info on Greenlight this week, and it seems like we're making really good progress, and feedback has been very positive. We're pretty excited about it, and I hope you can support us!
Steam Greenlight | Camera Obscura

NEW: Download the demo!
Demo Installer (recommended)
Demo ZIP

Here's a screenshot (see the Greenlight page for more):

The game also has a full, custom soundtrack by the amazing Trenton Ng, and we've shared a few of the tracks here:
Soundtrack

Let me know if you have any feedback or questions about the game!

Thanks all!
- Brian

Fuzz
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th Jan 2013 04:13