Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / TDK's Timer Tutorial

Author
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Aug 2005 01:28 Edited at: 7th Jul 2007 20:48
This is just one of many beginners tutorials available for Dark Basic by TDK_Man. They were primarily written for DB Classic users, but because they start at such a very low level and cater for complete newcomers to programming, the vast majority of them apply equally to DBPro users as well. You can find all of them here:

Dark Basic Tutorials For Complete Beginners

** TDK_Man's Timer Tutorial **

One subject you often see questions about on forums is that of timers. These may be for showing an on-screen display of either time left or time elapsed, though timers have many other uses.

This tutorial will show the seasoned DB user nothing new, but is instead aimed at the new programmer and looks at the way timers work and how they can be used in your programs. Feel free to copy any of the code in this tutorial into DB and run it.

TDK_Man

Timer Tutorial

All PC's have built-in timers which place values into registers for programmers to access. DB has a function called Timer() which accesses the computers timer register and returns values in one thousandths of a second increments.

To convert these values to seconds, we simply have to divide them by 1000. If you need finer timings than one second intervals, then you can divide by 100, 10 or not divide by anything at all to return 10th, 100th and 1000th of a second increments respectively.

The value can obviously be stored in a variable, so if for example, you use:

RetVal=Timer()

...then the current value of the PC's timer is stored in the variable RetVal.