Product Chat / @Lee - Lua Error Checking

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Mar 2016 21:04 Edited at: 23rd Mar 2016 21:07
Hi, please don't take this as a dig, its not intended that way, but your implementation of Lua is lacking argument error checking and causing GG to crash, I have lots of experience working with Lua and have built Lua based runtimes, plugins and modules myself so I feel compelled to bring this up as this is pretty much the standard for Lua based applications

for example, I changed a Prompt to a PromptLocal but forgot to add the 'e' argument, the result is GG crashing, to solve this you need to make use of Lua's 'error' function and check argument types before sending the direct call as this crashes the internal lua_state

the correct method of checking arguments in a lua script:

the result is I am informed of the error, told what script, line and argument is at fault and GG does NOT crash as Lua automatically prevents the function call after calling error (see attachment), it also helps a great deal with bug tracking scripts and function calls

this should also be implemented in direct call functions with luaL_argcheck and luaL_argerror as Lua does not like nil values and altho its pretty forgiving on most argtypes nil's crash the runtime, everytime!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
PM
Belidos
3D Media Maker
Years of Service
User Offline
Playing: The Game
Posted: 23rd Mar 2016 21:21
That's odd. Whenever I've had an issue with incorrect LUA scripts it will show a prompt telling me which line is a problem, and if I click ok it still loads the text game but with that LUA script disabled, maybe it's only some commands that don't prompt?

i7, NV960 4GB, 16GB memory, 2x 4TB Hybrid, Win10.
i5 , AMD 6770 1GB, 8GB memory, 512GB Generic SATAIII + 2TB Seagate Baracuda SATAIII, Win7.
i3, Radeon integrated graphics, 4GB memory, 512gB Generic SATAII, Win8.1.
Q6600, Intel integrated graphics, 2GB memory, 180GB Generic SATAII, WinXP.