Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Professional Discussion / Is performance getting worse on newer systems?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Sep 2016 03:16 Edited at: 2nd Sep 2016 03:22
Preamble:
I've been using Dark Basic Pro since about 2002. I have a few half made games that I like to tinker with off and on. Also probably a few more editor programs and the like to support those.

I find programming fairly easy. But it seems that programming to get a high frame rate requires being efficient. It seems being efficient requires building complex and ingenious systems to make the program do the absolute minimum amount of work behind the scenes without it affecting the player at all. That isn't easy.

To that end over the years I've figured out a lot of things like using a system to keep track of loaded textures and objects so I can link to them or clone them instead of loading them off of the hard drive again and wastefully duplicating memory. Whole sections of levels disappear when the player cannot see them. Characters don't animate or collide with stuff when culled. Etc.

The thing is I've cut down drastically on memory and load times over the years but it feels like every time I make a gain with performance, I'm only able to keep pace with things.
Is my frame rate any better than it was 10 years ago when I was using horrible optimization? Not really.

Often I see things at a 40-50 fps zone. My computer is a beast compared to what it was then.
We're talking a 2ghz AMD w/ Geforce 8800 vs. 3.2ghz AMD w/Geforce 760
In some cases I'll say oh in this old level I remember getting 40fps back in 2008... 16fps now.