Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Is GDK .NET right for me?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Apr 2007 22:07 Edited at: 14th Apr 2007 22:10
Hey guys. I used to program with DarkBASIC like 5 months ago. I am now a C# programmer in DirectX. Should I stay with vanilla DirectX? Or should I try out GDK .NET? I also noticed that DirectX is free and a commercial license for GDK .NET is $200.
UltraG
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Apr 2007 22:09 Edited at: 14th Apr 2007 22:10
*deleted*
APEXnow
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Apr 2007 22:49
UltraG, you don't necessarily need to purchase the Commercial license straight away. You do have the option to upgrade from the freeware license when you have a product to sell.

As for deciding whether you think DarkGDK.NET is right for you, I would get opinions from all of the users on this forum, and then decide for yourself. The benefits of using DarkGDK.NET with both Visual Basic and C#... is that it's very easy to use. Easier to use than diving straight into the DirectX interface libraries.

I will point out though, that with DarkGDK.NET, you need to install a runtime component onto an end user system before DGDK.NET developed applications will run. The toolkit comes with an installer that can be run silently if needed, incase you decide to create your own installer, but you'd also need to do the same with the .NET framework installer as well.

Other than the above minor issue, the benefits outweight the drawbacks. It's easy to setup projects. The toolkit comes with several sample projects demonstrating different aspects of the engine. The documentation isn't great though (partly my fault), but I'm working on it.

Paul.