Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / Relitave Scale?

Author
Message
QuothTheRaven
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 20th Oct 2002 00:18
I want to write a code that will shrink an object into nothing. The problem is the object is already scaled. Since it will be different objects I dont know what their specefic scale is. If i start at scale(100,100,100 it unscales the object and ruines the effect. How can I do a "relitave scale" that takes into consideration the objects current shape?
Shadow Robert
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 20th Oct 2002 01:02
well the scale of my relatives are tiny (whole family of midgets i swear - hahaa)
well jokes aside what you need to do is actually take the final scale and divide by 100 then subtract that from the current scale per cycle to scale down

or you could just rescale the whole world to DB standard scale.

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
QuothTheRaven
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 20th Oct 2002 21:27
So wrong! I don't think you understand...I have no way of knowing the current object scale. It could be 50,100,200 or i could be 70,100,100. I have to make that object shrink down once per loop until it dissapears into nothing, but I CANT START AT 100 BECAUSE IT WOULD UNSCALE THE OBJECT! Lets say my object is an elongated sphere, like a football. It is scaled 100,200,100. Without knowing its scale, I have to decrease each number until it gets to 0, but if I start at 100 it unscales the object back to its original shape.
The Darthster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 21st Oct 2002 01:12
If it is already scaled then wont you have done it manually? Whatever size object you put into db it will always be scaled 100,100,100 to begin with. Have you scaled the object manually or automatically? You could try comparing the object size x(), object size y() and object size z() values with the original values to get a scale.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-08-13 19:03:30
Your offset time is: 2020-08-13 19:03:30