Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / 1's long road to a rpg

Author
Message
RPG DREAMER
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2007
Location:
Posted: 7th Jun 2007 07:10
Hi everybody, its nice to meet u all.
I am a 19 year old who just dreams, but i always dream of the same thing, being in a fantasy world, being a lone hero and all the usual. I've played many rpg's and very few of them hit all the right spots. So im making my own.lol I know it will be long, hard and not recomended but it has to be done.lol
Im gonna keep daily updates on where i am on the project (if im aloud-if theres any problems let me know) i know most people stop but i still wanna try.
At the minute this is what i have.


i kinda have a problem, its the skysphere. i dont know why but when i make the skyshere bigger than 30,30,30(scale it) a big hole appears where it it should be. Can anybody please help me resolve this issue please.
The media is attached.

Also i was wondering if anybody wanted to team up with me on this project. Well let me know anyway. thank-you

My ultimate wet dream has always been to build an rpg.lol
Please help me fulfil it... Thank-You

Attachments

Login to view attachments
BatVink
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 7th Jun 2007 08:24
Moved to Newcomers Corner. (was in Dark Physics)

Quote: "Im gonna keep daily updates on where i am on the project (if im aloud-if theres any problems let me know)"

That's what the WIP board is for, feel free to open up a thread there.

zenassem
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posted: 7th Jun 2007 08:38 Edited at: 7th Jun 2007 08:41
I have one piece of advice for you, and it's something I was recently introduced to by indi.

As much as I thought that I planned out my code , I seemed to have overlooked and key piece of development for some years now. If anything, missing this one fairly simple step, has caused me to abandon most of my projects as they increased in size and complexity.

Set up debug window, that you can use during the dev process to see what is going on.

Also write some code (logger) to write to a log file, of what is happening in your app, whether it be variable changes, function calls, routines etc... Without it you will be coding blind.


Why???
=======

I used to just place test stubs on the fly, and use text/print commands when I ran into problems. But honestly, it's not the best idea. Better to have a way from the beginning of seeing any debug info you need.

I guess I haven't properly looked into the Dbpros IDE, or codesurge's know what the debugger is capable of; I always assumed they didn't work (Perhaps I am doing something wrong). Regardless you are better off setting up your own, right from the get-go!

I am working on a Dynamic Debugger/logger right now, but I have no idea when it will be functioning the way I want. When complete, I won't code without it.

RPG DREAMER
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2007
Location:
Posted: 7th Jun 2007 17:04
Thanks for the info batvink. As this is the first time i've tried doing something like this.
I will open a thread in the wip board.

thanks for the advise zenassem, I am new to all this so i was wondering if u could help me out. The debugger advise makes sense but i dont understand how to use it while coding. it sometimes crashes.
As for a logger im not too sure what its for or what it does, can u please explain.
Would u have any idea of alternatives of the programs that you are referring to that i could use.

Thank-You

My ultimate wet dream has always been to build an rpg.lol
Please help me fulfil it... Thank-You
Scorpyo
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: italy
Posted: 7th Jun 2007 20:10
_______
i kinda have a problem, its the skysphere. i dont know why but when i make the skyshere bigger than 30,30,30(scale it) a big hole appears where it it should be. Can anybody please help me resolve this issue please.
_______

It's because the camera range is smaller than the scaled sky sphere, therefore it clips the camera view inside it.
put the " set camera range nearvalue,farvalue " command before the do-loop and try different "far" values.

In principle the camera range farvalue needs to be bigger than the skysphere radius if you keep the sky sphere always centered at the camera position.
RPG DREAMER
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2007
Location:
Posted: 7th Jun 2007 21:46
hi Scorpyo, how would i go about setting the skysphere always centered at the camera position. Cause wen i put in the set camera range it goes all weird(black lines with crack and the back items show through to the front. Thank-You for the help ladyz and gentz

My ultimate wet dream has always been to build an rpg.lol
Please help me fulfil it... Thank-You
zenassem
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posted: 7th Jun 2007 22:07
@RPG Dreamer,

Yeah I don't mean using the built-in IDE debugger, but rather coding your own, so that you can watch all the key pieces of your code. eg.[coding] values of variables, flags, indexes, [screen] Frames Per Second, location... [objects] collision, inview, onscreen, etc...

by logger I meant, use code to write a string out to a file when entering and exiting functions/routines, you can also write out variables or anything else you might find helpful. I'll put up something later today.

I am working on one as we speak. There are snippets, around. You will see that most of the people who have made signigicant progress in the WIP board, have some sort of debugging info.

CaMeRoN H
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2005
Location: Who knows?
Posted: 7th Jun 2007 23:09
If you need someone to help you i wouldn't mind helping.
TDK
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2002
Location: UK
Posted: 8th Jun 2007 07:59 Edited at: 8th Jun 2007 08:00
Quote: "how would i go about setting the skysphere always centered at the camera position"


When you position the camera, on the next line use:

Position Object SkyboxObjNum, Camera Position X(), Camera Position Y(), Camera Position Z()

As for the weird visuals you are getting, it usually occurs when you start using very large distances. The best way to cure it is to scale down your world so everything is much smaller.

TDK_Man

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-25 17:57:34
Your offset time is: 2024-11-25 17:57:34