Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPS Creator X10 / Best Nvidia?

Author
Message
Trinity Pictures
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Nov 2006
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posted: 14th Jun 2007 19:49
What is the best Nvidia 8 series card out that runs x10.

Artist/Modellor of Encrypto Studios
Master Xilo
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2006
Location: Bern, Switzerland
Posted: 14th Jun 2007 19:58
of course the 8800 ultra
Slayer222
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Mar 2007
Location: Wherever I feel like
Posted: 14th Jun 2007 19:59
maybe the nivida 8800gts 864 GB thingy,
*Slayer_2

EOT
[img][/img]
Check it out here: http://eliteops.piczo.com/?cr=6&rfm=y
FredP
Retired Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2006
Location: Indiana
Posted: 14th Jun 2007 20:53
That is a question only you can answer.It depends on how much you want to spend,how much memory you want for your graphics card,etc.
There is no one 8000 series card that will work for everyone.

Xarshi
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Dec 2005
Location: Ohio
Posted: 14th Jun 2007 21:43
Hahahaha,864GB of VRAM? When did they do this!? Hah,that'd be amazing,you could play at like,1000000x1000000 resolution. And yes,the best nvidia 8 series card is the 8800 ultra in SLI mode. Hah,good luck fitting them into your system of course.

Hello
FredP
Retired Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2006
Location: Indiana
Posted: 14th Jun 2007 23:10
That's not correct.Specs are just one aspect of it.You have to include the price and whether the user actually needs the most expensive one and what they are using it for.
Personally,I think that one of the lower end cards will work just fine for me and I won't have to sell an organ to get one.

Mickm
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Apr 2006
Location: Kingston, ON
Posted: 14th Jun 2007 23:15
Man its hard to breathe, *huff* *puff* sold a lung for that video ca.... *drops*


If you want the best get the 8800, if you can't afford it try to get the 86, I would stay away from the 85's as i've seen some tests (however I don't trusts the tests anymore) where the 79's beat the 85's. Or get an 88 with less ram

If you have a ton of money just get an SLI motherboard and grab 2 8800 SLI cards.

http://www.gamestack.org
http://onlinenotes.gamestack.org
http://onlinebookmarks.gamestack.org
vorconan
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2006
Location: Wales
Posted: 16th Jun 2007 02:22
Quote: "Hahahaha,864GB of VRAM? When did they do this!? Hah,that'd be amazing,you could play at like,1000000x1000000 resolution. And yes,the best nvidia 8 series card is the 8800 ultra in SLI mode. Hah,good luck fitting them into your system of course."


Maybe not that much resolution, but quite high anyway. Don't forget that there are motherboards that are now handling two graphics cards at once, imagine two 8800 GTSs running on a quad core processor.
Inverted
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2006
Location: Oregon
Posted: 16th Jun 2007 08:36
Best Nvidia? The 8800 ultra, he asked what the best one was not what the most affordable was or w/e


Lawl
FredP
Retired Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2006
Location: Indiana
Posted: 16th Jun 2007 09:04
Ummmm...not true.Maybe according to the specs but that may not be the best card with the options that he needs.
Only the person deciding which card they want can make that decision.
Personally I am going with either an 8500 or 8600...one of the low end cards.One of them should work fine for what I need.And how many of our forum members are going to be able to afford the card you're talking about?
Different cards meet different needs and thinking that you should just go with the most expensive one or the one with the best specs automatically may not be a good idea.

mister shakes
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Dec 2006
Location: Amishville
Posted: 16th Jun 2007 16:43
You can even SLI 2 of the 8500 or 8600 for less than a 8800.
Xarshi
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Dec 2005
Location: Ohio
Posted: 16th Jun 2007 20:29
@vorconan - They are apparently going to be releasing a GeForce 8950GX2 which is a dual core card. That means you could run it in SLI mode for quad core. Of course,I'm not saying 2 GB of VRAM is totally needed... But it would be blazing fast performance

Hello
MikeB
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Apr 2007
Location: My Computer, Shropshire, England
Posted: 17th Jun 2007 13:06
When I get a job.........

2xGeforce 8950GX2
8GB ram
1500 GB hard drive
Quad core 3.5 Ghz processor
25" Flatscreen TFT monitor
Wacom drawing tablet (that one that is a monitor aswell)

Wow....... That would be so awesome .

E.D.


Shame I can't change my name
Roger Wilco
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jul 2005
Location: In the Shadow of Chernobyl
Posted: 17th Jun 2007 15:04 Edited at: 17th Jun 2007 16:20
You'd have to get a good job then, those things aren't cheap.

"Or perhaps we're just one of god's little jokes?"
Xarshi
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Dec 2005
Location: Ohio
Posted: 17th Jun 2007 20:46
hah,that would be an amazing computer.

Hello
vorconan
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2006
Location: Wales
Posted: 18th Jun 2007 00:05
@ED -

I doubt you would need it, 1.5TB of memory is a little bit too much for me anyway. And personally I would have a 60" HDTV with PC support, probably cost less than the graphics cards anyway
Luciferia
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2007
Location: England
Posted: 20th Jun 2007 18:18
Quote: "8GB ram"

You do know that would be a huge waste without a 64 bit processor and would still be a huge waste of money since the need for even 3gig of ram is rarer than Michael Jackson doing somthing sensible and mature.


Sopo the tocho
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Jun 2007
Location:
Posted: 22nd Jun 2007 08:38
Quote: "When I get a job.........

2xGeforce 8950GX2
8GB ram
1500 GB hard drive
Quad core 3.5 Ghz processor
25" Flatscreen TFT monitor
Wacom drawing tablet (that one that is a monitor aswell)

Wow....... That would be so awesome .

E.D."



I had seen a computer with:

2x Intel Xeon quadcore 3 Ghz processor. ( 8 cores... )
16 gb Ram
and many more, of course costing around 10.000 € or so

Quote: "You do know that would be a huge waste without a 64 bit processor and would still be a huge waste of money since the need for even 3gig of ram is rarer than Michael Jackson doing somthing sensible and mature."


Certainly, you need a 64 bit processor and a 64 bit O.S, actually its not a problem because all the new procesors are 64 bit, but without a 64 bit O.S its a HUGE waste of money, I have 4 gb in my PC, and want to add more in the future, I need it for my Job, I work in a music studio, and the software we use its like be using like 30 or 40 softwares at the same time. Try to imagine that, you have 100 or 120 audio tracks in wav 24 bits (each minute around 10 mb) for a 4 minutes song 10*100*4= 4gb only the audio (moving it in real time) , then each track have effects like compressors, delays... Yeah! 4 gb ram its not enough!

Of course if you don´t need it to work or something like that, its a waste of money
Mikey spike
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2006
Location: UK, England
Posted: 22nd Jun 2007 21:06
the best nvidia card.....
the 8800Ultra Quad sli

4 cards built together XD

[url]http://www.freewebs.com/mikey-spikey/index.htm[url]
FredP
Retired Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2006
Location: Indiana
Posted: 23rd Jun 2007 02:13
Some of us aren't rich...

Game Beetle
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th May 2007
Location:
Posted: 23rd Jun 2007 16:34
My 8800 GTX is really fast.
Commander in Chief
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Apr 2006
Location: Carbondale, PA, USA
Posted: 29th Jun 2007 14:28
Not rich here. I'm going with the 8500. I just want to be able to play Flight Simulator X and Battlefield 2 (mainly just Battlefield 2).

---PlasmaArts---
www.plasmaarts.co.nr - www.plasmaarts-games.co.nr
its that guy
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2007
Location: illinois
Posted: 9th Jul 2007 20:31
i just want to make sure...
the
XFX NVIDIA GeForce 8500 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express Graphics Card
will play X10 just fine on my comp (1gig ram)right? cause i dont want to spend too much on a graphics card, $150 is already too much to pay lol

Fruitless CRUNK
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Mar 2007
Location: DRINKING MY HOT COFFEE =:-)
Posted: 10th Jul 2007 00:12
yeah if you dont have the money go buy a 8600 card because its cheep(well....... mine was so dont get your hopes up) but if you go and buy a 8500 your throwing your green away

i had to make a new account im no noob my old name was 300 win mag

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2021-01-19 19:15:35
Your offset time is: 2021-01-19 19:15:35