Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPS Creator X10 / FPSCreator x10 question:Will there be an internal video capture function?

Author
Message
Samus075
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jun 2006
Location: Tallon IV
Posted: 1st Jul 2007 18:20
I heard from somewhere (can't remember where) that there would be a program in the new fpsx10 game where you could capture segments of the test game or something as video, and use it as a video file for the story markers, etc. to make cut-scenes. I was just wondering if that's true, because I haven't heard anything about it since I saw it and if you guys are, just wondering if it will be ready by the time you guys release the creator. Thanks so much for your time and patience.

Samus075
Duplex
User Banned
Posted: 1st Jul 2007 21:43
No as video capture is not possible with DBP

Duplex Creations Has now teamed up withX games.
Urban Pack WIP
bond1
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 1st Jul 2007 23:06
Don't listen to Duplex.

----------------------------------------
"Your mom goes to college."
Duplex
User Banned
Posted: 1st Jul 2007 23:10
And why not?

Duplex Creations Has now teamed up withX games.
Urban Pack WIP
Snowblind 44
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posted: 2nd Jul 2007 00:28
Quote: "And why not?"

It's not being programmed in DBP.


If games were realistic, we'd have a run away option in FPS games, and RPGs with dead people who stay dead,etc.
Lol.
Samus075
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jun 2006
Location: Tallon IV
Posted: 2nd Jul 2007 02:26
I was just wondering, because that would be an awesome tool. At least, I hope they make it easier to plug videos and stuff into the game.

Samus075
Mickm
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Apr 2006
Location: Kingston, ON
Posted: 2nd Jul 2007 04:15
I heard somewhere that you can capture it.

Try looking in the news letters

IntelĀ® Core 2 E6420 Duo Processor |2GB DDR2 | nVidia GeForce 8600 GTS |Sound BlasterĀ® Audigy HD Software Edition
Windows Vista Home Premium | 22" E228WFP Widescreen Digital Flat Panel
BMB
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Apr 2007
Location:
Posted: 2nd Jul 2007 04:21
Yeah I remember reading somewhere that you could capture video ingame also. I think Rick may have said it in the April Screenshots topic somewhere... but I don't remember well enough to be certain.

bmbvideo.com
xplosys
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 2nd Jul 2007 04:25
Quote: "Another feature is the inclusion of video capture built right into the engine itself. This means you can play a section of your game, capture the footage to a video file, and ultimately upload it to a website to show your friends, or advertise your game. You can also use the video in the editing of the level itself, by using a Story Zone marker to play the video back when the player enters a room or triggers an event. "


From the newsletter.

Best.

I'm sorry, my answers are limited. You must ask the right question.

AaronG
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Oct 2006
Location: Millstone, NJ
Posted: 2nd Jul 2007 04:36
well that ends the argument.

pdidy
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Dec 2006
Location:
Posted: 2nd Jul 2007 09:25
yes there is video capture in x10,
and it can be used as a cut scene.
web or demo, and quality is exellent
this is just another feature that
makes x10 shine.
vorconan
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2006
Location: Wales
Posted: 2nd Jul 2007 13:19
Quote: "It's not being programmed in DBP."


What are you on about? Ever heard of DBP X10?

And video capture is possible, there is a DBP plugin that lets you create .avi files.
Snowblind 44
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posted: 2nd Jul 2007 15:27
Quote: "What are you on about? Ever heard of DBP X10?"

I'm pretty sure TGC said they were programming it in C++.

But now that Lee has said it will be possible, no point to arguing about it.


If games were realistic, we'd have a run away option in FPS games, and RPGs with dead people who stay dead,etc.
Lol.
vorconan
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2006
Location: Wales
Posted: 2nd Jul 2007 16:55
Quote: "I'm pretty sure TGC said they were programming it in C++"


Nope, no way. Whats the point in making DBP X10 otherwise?
Samus075
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jun 2006
Location: Tallon IV
Posted: 2nd Jul 2007 17:11
Well thank you guys, pretty much answered my question, I just hope it's actually done and will positively be in there. Thanks very much.

Samus075
Conjured Entertainment
AGK Developer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2005
Location: Nirvana
Posted: 3rd Jul 2007 07:20
Quote: "yes there is video capture in x10,
and it can be used as a cut scene.
web or demo, and quality is exellent
this is just another feature that
makes x10 shine. "


LOL

You guys remember that before you complain about the price.



Don't forget to visit Conjured Entertainment
FPSC Scripts
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2006
Location: Curacao
Posted: 3rd Jul 2007 07:27
Quote: "I'm pretty sure TGC said they were programming it in C++."

False,TGC said in order for fps creator x10 to be created we need to create darkbasic pro x10.
And if you want proof see the DBpro x10 video on youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z_kgpYygQgE

i'm the M king.
Conjured Entertainment
AGK Developer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2005
Location: Nirvana
Posted: 3rd Jul 2007 07:47 Edited at: 3rd Jul 2007 07:51
BUT

Technically it is in C++ because that is what DBP is written in, right?
BUT
Then what is C++ written in?
Ah, who cares anyway?

It's all good.



Don't forget to visit Conjured Entertainment
Steve J
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver, Washington
Posted: 3rd Jul 2007 09:27
Quote: "Nope, no way. Whats the point in making DBP X10 otherwise?"


DBP was not made for just FPSC. It is for a different market entirely=S.

Quote: "BUT

Technically it is in C++ because that is what DBP is written in, right?
BUT
Then what is C++ written in?
Ah, who cares anyway?

It's all good."


Most likely the compiler was made in Assembly, which is in turn converted to Hex or just straight Machine Code.

Time is ticking away.
FredP
Retired Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2006
Location: Indiana
Posted: 3rd Jul 2007 13:22
Quote: "Most likely the compiler was made in Assembly, which is in turn converted to Hex or just straight Machine Code."


Most likely they used DarkBasicPro or a variant thereof.

Please have mercy and use the search function.
Steve J
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver, Washington
Posted: 4th Jul 2007 00:41
I am talking of the C++ backend compiler.

Of course FPSC x10 used the new DBP, they even showed it in a video.

Time is ticking away.
RickV
TGC Development Director
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Apr 2000
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 4th Jul 2007 12:03
The main game play is coded in DBPro X10. The video capture is a function created by Paul that Lee calls up. The video capture uses an extra core to capture the video while the game is playing. This is how I have made the demo videos (because FRAPS does not work on DX10 yet and I could not SVIDEO the output from the 8800 because the drivers didn't allow it at the time - they might now).

Rick

Financial Director
TGC Team
[Check out Jed McKenna - http://www.wisefoolpress.com/]

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2021-01-19 18:27:58
Your offset time is: 2021-01-19 18:27:58