Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / quick quiestion on structure of game

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi, I'm new to the dbGDK.net but am an experienced c# developer, but new to game creation (I have dbPro but never had the time to learn it so am well glad for the .Net libs!!!! ) I apologise if this is the incorrect forum to post my question in, but I have a question regarding multi-player implementation.

Basically Im pondering how best to enumerate the players on the server. Is it best to do an initial count when connecting to the server then send out updates as players connect / disconnect or a more dynamic approach of calculating on the server the players near the current position and returning the list that way? (the server is being written purly in c# so i will prolly go the route of my own sockets implemention for networking as recommended by MS -Ive done some prior research into the managed Dx librarys)

Im asking really from the point of view of using my own networking layer (and has this been done yet??) as there is additional functionality I will be needing to add (if it proves possible over a standard(8mb) dsl connection)

I look forward to getting to know you guys over the coming months and contributing to the forum as much as possible!

thanks for reading and having seen some of the examples some of you guys look really really talented developers!!!! (its always good to finish with a little brown nosing! )
CattleRustler
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 7th Jul 2007 15:34