Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Program Announcements / Thrill Ride Demo

Author
Message
OzBot
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2003
Location: Sweden
Posted: 5th Jun 2003 20:01


Needed a break from writing our latest game (Space Ranger) so I knocked up this Demo, it goes for approxiamtly 3 minutes.
Press 'f' during Demo to check FPS if it falls consistently below 48 fps then lower your display settings.


http://217.210.154.125/ride.msi

regards to all...
OzBot...
hexGEAR
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Nov 2002
Location: Naytonia
Posted: 5th Jun 2003 20:13 Edited at: 5th Jun 2003 20:20
cool , downloading now!

to live is to suffer, to survive, well, thats to find meaning in the sufferening.....
hexGEAR
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Nov 2002
Location: Naytonia
Posted: 5th Jun 2003 20:25
sorry man, i was getting 1-4fps no matter my display settings don't blame your code though, my laptops pretty crap i'll see if i can try it out on another computer, anyways at least i got to see the world and it looked good

to live is to suffer, to survive, well, thats to find meaning in the sufferening.....
OzBot
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2003
Location: Sweden
Posted: 5th Jun 2003 20:40
Yep I reckon you will need at least a geforce2 and a PIII 500mhz.
Hamish McHaggis
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2002
Location: Modgnik Detinu
Posted: 7th Jun 2003 16:46
I got 41-50 when not looking at the model, and 30 when looking at it, but my good PC is broken.

Thats really good, is it part of any game? It reminded me a lot of Theme Park World whne your riding the rides. Did you write aphysics engine to control the carrages going up and down (faster it spins, the higher they go), or did you just manually animate it? The reflections on the carrages are also really nice !! Good job!

cuRant PRogekt: a three-de map editer
Why the hell'd you ask me for crying out loud!?!
Athelon XP 1400 Plus - Nvidia Geforce MX400 - 256mb RAM
OzBot
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2003
Location: Sweden
Posted: 8th Jun 2003 02:27
Cheers,

No its not a game, I just wanted try write a quick demo to take a break from the bigger project.

I had to animate the arms up based on then rotation speed, because i couldn't in the time frame (willing to work on the demo), find out a way of linking the arms so that it had like a hinge, so I animated it going up in code.

Regards,
OzBot
Hamish McHaggis
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2002
Location: Modgnik Detinu
Posted: 8th Jun 2003 21:36
Cool.

cuRant PRogekt: a three-de map editer
Why the hell'd you ask me for crying out loud!?!
Athelon XP 1400 Plus - Nvidia Geforce MX400 - 256mb RAM
iannai
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jul 2003
Location:
Posted: 10th Jul 2003 17:00
cool demo! I love the colours on the top of the ride - that gold type colour is ace!

I hope to be able to produce something like this one day - just started with DB classic (£17.99 from Amazon - bargain!)

My first post on the forums, too! No doubt I'll be back soon with PLENTY of noobie questions

OzBot
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2003
Location: Sweden
Posted: 12th Jul 2003 13:34
Cheers, it's always nice when someone appreciates your work.
MrTAToad
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 12th Jul 2003 15:16
Got a steady 49FPS on my Ti4800... Very good demo...

Good news everyone! I really am THAT good...
http://www.nickk.nildram.co.uk/ for great plug-ins and other exciting things - oh my, yes!
OzBot
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2003
Location: Sweden
Posted: 12th Jul 2003 23:51
Thanks or as they say in Sweden 'tack Så mycket'.
Juso
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Sep 2002
Location: Finland
Posted: 13th Jul 2003 13:29 Edited at: 13th Jul 2003 13:30
I got this on every display settings:

Run time error 430
Class does not support Automation or does not support expected interface

I have Radeon 9700 Pro
OzBot
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2003
Location: Sweden
Posted: 13th Jul 2003 18:13 Edited at: 19th Sep 2003 22:26
Try running the DBpro executable directly, that error code is related to VB6 not DBpro.
What OS are you running?

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-02-25 15:31:25
Your offset time is: 2024-02-25 15:31:25