Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / Player's Name

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi Everyone,

I'm a noob to this forum so if I'm posting my question in the wrong area..please let me know and I will reroute my question.

I want to start creating a game using FPS and wondering if possible to have player's name on top of the player. For example..when the enemy is running..can the player see his name on top of his head?

Thank you for your help in advance..

TC
Nickydude
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 7th Nov 2007 00:39
No sorry. In FPSX10 you can have the enemies health above his head, but no name.

And welcome to the forum!

"he is coming!..." - WIP in 'Showcase'
Robert F
User Banned
Posted: 7th Nov 2007 00:42
Yes, Welcome to the forums, but like Nickydude said, i dont think its possible, unless you modeled the words over his head but then you would be able to shoot the words and kill him, dont even know if thats possible either?

Plystire
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 7th Nov 2007 07:36
@Robert F:

If you WERE to model in the name you would not be able to shoot the words, because the collision box for the enemy would not change.

However, you would not be able to get the billboard effect onto JUST the words, meaning you can run around the enemy and see the words backwards. Lol

The one and only,
~PlystirE~

Trister
Years of Service
User Offline
lol thank you for many replies. I think I can live w/o player's name on top of head.

Any suggestions on where to go to learn the program itself besides through the 37 videos given from website?
Nickydude
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 7th Nov 2007 09:07
Try my guide.