Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Having a wierd problem

Author
Message
Xarshi
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Dec 2005
Location: Ohio
Posted: 25th Nov 2007 05:00
Ok. Well, chances are I'm missing something extremely simple here, but whenever I try and load an object nothing renders... like, only when loading something. I can create a cube or sphere and it'll work perfectly. But I've tried loading objects from other demos, then simply place the camera back a few units on the z axis, and sync and all that, but the screen remains black and nothing renders. Heres the basic code I'm using for this:



That code looks like it should work right? Nope, black screen. so whats the deal with it?

Hello
dbGamerX
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2007
Location:
Posted: 25th Nov 2007 05:16
This is the first thing about Dark GDK I ever learned... If you're using VC++ 2008 Express, after it loads and "hooks" the DLLs, you see a window with nothing but a black screen. If you wait about 30 seconds then the background should change to blue and the statue should appear.

At least that's what happens on my comp.

dbPrint ( "Sig" );
HeavyAmp
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Oct 2006
Location: Castle in the Sky!
Posted: 25th Nov 2007 05:38
Thats exactly the same problem I had. If its black and you don't at least get a blue backdrop then it hasn't loaded properly. Dark GDK unlike DBP wont give you a File cannot be found message prompt. The most likely option is you have your file path to your object wrong.

Better to be dead, than to live your life afraid.
Lion Jin
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Sep 2006
Location:
Posted: 25th Nov 2007 06:09 Edited at: 25th Nov 2007 06:13
Try "media\\statue.x" ,otherwise ,the path must be wrong.
Xarshi
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Dec 2005
Location: Ohio
Posted: 25th Nov 2007 06:15 Edited at: 25th Nov 2007 06:15
the after statue.x was added in by the forum... I had originally had a shorter title, so it screwed with my thing... haha. I tried the "\" thing, but that didn't work either.

Edit - Ok, seemed that when I ran it in debug mode or run without debug from the ide, it wouldn't load, but when I went to the exe in windows, it would run. w...why? why would that happen? thats just a hassle...

Hello
Hayer
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2005
Location: Norway
Posted: 25th Nov 2007 09:27
probably because when ur in the editor and compiling, it makes a tempfolder(doesn't it?) and when its search for u folder in the temp folder it doesn't exist.

That was my problem with OpenGL i vb..

Xarshi
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Dec 2005
Location: Ohio
Posted: 25th Nov 2007 17:18
hm.. that'd be wierd because this would be the first time it happened. Idk, I'll figure it out.

Hello
Eltro
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Nov 2007
Location:
Posted: 28th Nov 2007 14:46
Simple Solution.
After You build the Solution You Could Drag the Resources
That the Executable needs in order for them to load.
Any how the Executable might be searching for these resources
in the directory that the executable is in.
So Be sure that the Resources are there.
Some People Use Regestrys to point to certain directorys.
That means that the Executable can be in one place and the
resource could be in an exsplict location that we know abought.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-16 20:31:37
Your offset time is: 2024-11-16 20:31:37