Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / My first time

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello everyone.

I am new to game developement and C++. I found this place because there is a promo with VC++ 9. Anyway I just wanted to ask, how good should I get to know C++ before I try to start using this? should I really master C++ before hand or just learn the basics and concepts (like functions, vaiables and pointers)?

I am sorry as I am sure many newbies have asked this before, any help would be much appreciated

To go fowards, think backwards.
flip sk8r11
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Nov 2007 03:52 Edited at: 28th Nov 2007 03:53
Well if you know the syntax of c++ then you should be fine but you may want to try dbpro first its alot easier to start with and many of the commands are similar to what youll get with the dark gdk c++ library but its syntax is different than c++ because its a variant of the basic language. Also dbpro is not case sensitive which is good.
hyrichter
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Nov 2007 04:13
Well, I'm (re)learning C++ at the same time as the GDK. It's not too hard for me, as I've used lots of other languages that have a c-style syntax(PHP, mostly.) So, if you're familiar with coding, it shouldn't be too hard to get up to speed; otherwise, you may want to go through a few beginner tutorials to get the basics of the C++ language learned.

CodeSurge
Version 1.0 finally released! Code your DBP projects in style. (And save the kittens!)
Zotoaster
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Nov 2007 18:10