Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / App doesn't recieve Network messages.

Author
Message
God of Thunder
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Dec 2007
Location: Middle of nowhere, Australia
Posted: 18th Dec 2007 03:45
G'day, I started to work on a remake of Pong with network play, but the client doesn't seem to receive the net messages i send.

I'm using the DarkGDK network commands and no plugins.
The following code is the function i call from the host app to send the balls location. (I decided for this little experiment to have the Host do most of the work and send the client the updated variables).



And the following code is the function the client uses to process the messages and update its variables.



I Realy would like to stick with the DarkGDK networking commands with this project (as its my first Game with network play). any adivice would be realy appreciated.

P.S Thanks for taking the time to read my woes...lol

Only those who have been through Hell can see Heaven.
jason p sage
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jun 2007
Location: Ellington, CT USA
Posted: 18th Dec 2007 04:41
Are there any "Connection" Commands for Native Networking Support? Where is the host and client ? Same Machine? Friend's house? Need More Input... More Source

aersixb9
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Nov 2007
Location:
Posted: 18th Dec 2007 04:51
Could you just use sockets? Or windows file sharing and a shared file? What are the other options for networking in C++? Can anyone recommend a good (read - EZ as DarkGDK) API for networking in C++?
God of Thunder
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Dec 2007
Location: Middle of nowhere, Australia
Posted: 18th Dec 2007 06:14
I have 2 computers on a LAN connection at home (They are hooked through a network switch) for my testing. I thought the best way to explain my set up would be the following Diagram. If I need to clarify more details please dont hesitate to ask me. I realy want the help. And I've only just started learning networking.

internet
|
server(computer 1 (is XP) )
|
(network switch)
| |
(comp2 mine (is XP) ) (comp3 my testing buddy (Is Vista) )

the connection code is fine i think but i will post here it for inspect.



Also i Obtain the TCP/IP connection number with the following function.



Hope all that helps a bit more. Also hope i can be helped ... lol

Only those who have been through Hell can see Heaven.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-17 00:51:01
Your offset time is: 2024-11-17 00:51:01