Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Anybody interested in simple examples with very detailed explanations?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Jan 2008 07:27 Edited at: 8th Jan 2008 23:17
Ok gang,

I started this but I wanted to get some feedback before I went any further. My goal was to eventually work through all of the Dark GDK commands using simple programs that are excessively commented like what I've included here. The aim would be to provide a very clear understanding of the functions to newcomers as well as point out some of the common pitfalls.

I'm not an expert on Dark GDK but this seems like something that might help the community. It's a ton of work though so I want to make sure there is ample interest before I dig too far. The following is the first program and is an example of the excessive commenting style I would be using. Also, if anyone else is interested in helping with this I'd appreciate it.

-Frank

These are the specifice Dark GDK commands used. Some of these commands have multiple methods of being called but only the methods below were used in this example:

And here is the code example:

[edit]
I have a habit of checking my posts after submitting to proofread them. Anyway, I noticed that the code example was pretty much unreadable without the syntax coloring in Visual Studio. Would it be a good idea to have versions with and without the comments?
[/edit]
tempicek
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Jan 2008 10:08
Sounds as a good idea. Though I would strongly suggest to join this with the official documentation anyhow (I hope GDK devs would welcome it as the documentation is often too brief). In-place examples would definitely improve it a lot.
jason p sage