Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Problem with 3D Level

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th Jan 2008 20:23
To begin with, I am relatively new to C++ and entirely new to Visual Studio C++.

However, after going through the first tutorial on the 2D project, everything was fine. When I attempted to do the 3D tutorial, following all the guidelines and code that you are given, I am getting nothing but a black screen when I debug and run the program. What am I doing wrong?
monotonic
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th Jan 2008 12:14
Can we see some code please.

Just a shot in the dark here but, when using 3d you don't need to call dbCLS(), if you remove this line (if it exists) you should see something.

Who is your Daddy, and what does he do?
short
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Jan 2008 06:11

That's exactly it, and that's all, just as in the tutorial.
monotonic
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Jan 2008 13:52
Is the Colonel-X.x model in the output directory, otherwise it will not work.

The best thing to do I think is to create a directory and set this as the output directory for debug and release configurations, and put all your media into this directory.

The Sun is trying to kill me!
short
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Jan 2008 22:57
I'm sorry, like I said I'm new and I'm not entirely sure what you mean by that. I don't know where to look for it, but I've attempted to look through my files and I cannot find the Colonel-X.x file. I also am not sure what you mean by create a directory for the debug and release configuration. Sorry, really new.
Kira
Years of Service
User Offline
did you install the august directx sdk?
monotonic
Years of Service
User Offline