Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Terrain and path intersection

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I'm a software engineer, but not a game developer. I stumbled across DarkGDK, started playing with it, and now I'm working on my first game. I'm still learning the API, and have a couple questions.

Is there a function whereby I can pass a parameterized vector to determine if and where it intersects with my terrain? I'm using a height map and terrain texture, which works great. I'm applying my own physics engine to everything, including gun shots, and I don't want to have to render the bullet as an object just to test for collision. I'd rather compute continuous path and test for terrain intersection. Is there a function for this, or do I have to do this myself?

If I have to do this myself, can I get to the mathematical representation of the terrain? I assume its just a matrix, so I can test each square/triangle for intersection.
bitblitt
Years of Service
User Offline
I came up with an algorithm to calculate intersection points of balistic trajectories on terrain. However, I need some information from the terrain matrix. I need at least the 4 corner points for each surface, assuming their all coplanar. It would be nice if I didn't have to calculate the normal vector either.
tparkin
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Jan 2008 06:58 Edited at: 21st Jan 2008 06:59
Hi,

Check out dbIntersectObject() under the "Basic3D" section in the help file. It's what you're looking for.
bitblitt
Years of Service
User Offline