Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Which one is better/more efficient??

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th Jan 2008 01:09 Edited at: 24th Jan 2008 01:09
I'm taking a stab at making DGDK more OOP-ish. I was just curious; for a 'getPosition' function for things such as an object, would it be better to have a single function that returns a coordinate, or a function for X, Y and Z?

Heres what I mean:

This?

Or this?

Is there any advantage to using either??
monotonic
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th Jan 2008 10:51
I'm not an expert at this so don't quote me but, I would think the first variant would be the fastest. Because calling a function and returning a value (3 times for each co-ordinate) uses more clock cycles than copying and returning a 3 float vector.

Who is your Daddy, and what does he do?
kBessa
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th Jan 2008 13:49
DarkGDK does not have a method to get all three coordinates together, but 3 of them.

So the first one would be calling the 3 methods, and then using only 1 of the coordinates. If you were to use the Y coordinate, again you would be calling all 3 methods again.

I hope I made it clear.

-Thiago
monotonic
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th Jan 2008 14:53 Edited at: 24th Jan 2008 14:56
Yeah true, but if you needed all three co-ordniates, you would be calling six function in theory.

Just to clarify, in the code snippet below I'm not suggesting that the MyObject.GetPositionX() functions return a pointer to a GDK object, which you then call. I have written it like this to show that within the GetPositionX() functions you will be calling the GDK function and returning the value.

As opposed to: