Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / 2D Tile - How do I setup and scroll a background?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi all,

I'm very new to game programming and have been reading alot lately. I'm planning on making a side-scrolling game and have read that for collision detection and other reasons that using the scrolling tile setup is best. On the other hand I can't really find anything that is clear on how to do this in C++/DarkGDK. I have read lots of different documents about tile system and scrolling but can't come up with a clear idea on how to do it with C++/DarkGDK.

I have messed around setting up a background using a two-dimensional array with 1's and 0's and then placing an image on all the 1's but I don't quit understand how I would scroll that or detect collision with the DarkGDK.

I'm also not sure what type of file I should load as the "tileset." I have seen where some loaded multiple files and where some loaded one file that had numerous "tiles" on it. I know this is very long and vague but I'm in need of a starting point on where to go from here.

Any tips/advice/sample code would be great. Thanks for any help.
Scottie Dog
Years of Service
User Offline
Sounds like you have made a start.
Instead of using just 0s and 1s in your array, why dont you use the number of the tile you want to use. Im assuming that your tiles are all the same size - for example 32x32...

For two layers you could simply use something like this to draw it:

and to make it move:

There are of course a few optimisations that can be made to this code...
GTmauf
Years of Service
User Offline
Thanks for your reply Scottie Dog.