Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / Can I use custom VR hardware with FPSC?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi,

I have only just discovered FPSC and it looks like an awesome program. I am hoping I can use it to build a game to suit my project.

I am very keen on developing a really good game for use with my VR hardware. As you may already know, VR has not progressed much at all in the area of gaming and this disappoints me so I have been working on my own VR project.

I have been building my own 3DOF trackers for a while and am getting much closer to a working model. I am totally self taught with regards to the electronics and the coding so I have to learn a lot as I go along.

It is pretty easy to use mouse emulation and keyboard emulation with VR trackers, but the result is fun for a while but is lacking. To make a game feel more intuitive I need to split the control of the player into 3 or more aspects. I'll try and explain what I want to do and maybe someone can advise whether this is possible with FPSC. I want to be able to move in the direction my body faces, change my FOV according to the direction I am looking and aim and shoot the weapon according to the direction my hand is pointing. So I can be running along, looking all around and aiming the weapon totally independant of the FOV or direction of movement. If I can achieve this I think that the gameplay will be much more realistic.