Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Program Announcements / Model Viewer

Author
Message
AndrewT
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2007
Location: MI, USA
Posted: 29th Feb 2008 03:18 Edited at: 29th Feb 2008 21:25
I made this model viewer in DBP a couple weeks ago, but never properly released it. So, here it is. It's pretty basic, but it's still pretty useful.

You can load X, DBO, and 3DS models, roate/move them, texture them, view animations, and export them as DBOs.





Tell me what ya think.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
James H
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Apr 2007
Location: St Helens
Posted: 29th Feb 2008 04:56
Very nice, good quality, simple, love the controls. Just a couple of suggestions
add reset camera
add toggle cull
nice one! gonna use this often
James H
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Apr 2007
Location: St Helens
Posted: 29th Feb 2008 06:36
Sorry about this post - I forgot to put mailback on
AndrewT
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2007
Location: MI, USA
Posted: 29th Feb 2008 12:49
Quote: "add reset camera
add toggle cull"


Will do! Glad you like it.
JamesDunn
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Apr 2006
Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland
Posted: 29th Feb 2008 12:49
Nice James! very useful
AndrewT
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2007
Location: MI, USA
Posted: 29th Feb 2008 13:08
Okay, I added the features you wanted. Available in first post.
James H
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Apr 2007
Location: St Helens
Posted: 29th Feb 2008 19:22 Edited at: 29th Feb 2008 19:50
Hi it didn`t turn out the same, see screenie. Also the polycount doesn`t change when cull is switched but it does cull visually. Cheers

Attachments

Login to view attachments
AndrewT
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2007
Location: MI, USA
Posted: 29th Feb 2008 21:23 Edited at: 29th Feb 2008 21:25
Quote: "Hi it didn`t turn out the same, see screenie."


Sorry 'bout that, I forgot to set windowed mode on before I compiled. I'll fix it right now.

Quote: "Also the polycount doesn`t change when cull is switched but it does cull visually. Cheers"

As far as I know, DBP never changes the polycount according to an object's cull. Don't know why, it just never has for me.


::EDIT::

Fixed the window problem.
James H
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Apr 2007
Location: St Helens
Posted: 29th Feb 2008 21:59
I didn`t realise that - hadn`t checked just assumed it would. Good to know though, thanks.
Wolf Dreamer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Sep 2005
Location: the land of chaotic dreams
Posted: 6th Mar 2008 18:58
A few problems.

Had to first search my system for the msvcr71.dll finding many copies of it in other folders.

I tested loading models for .dbo and .x format, and they both loaded fine. Only the one in .x seems to have the animation working, the .dbo not running at all. I try to load texture for either one, and get nothing. Could be the models from the Arteria model packs I suppose. Had a few of them load up just fine, just not the big ones.

Anyone else using Windows Vista Premium have any problems getting this to work?

Sometimes when things are working, it crashes apparently at random.
Quote: "
Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: model viewer.exe
Application Version: 1.0.0.0
Fault Module Name: DBProBasic3DDebug.dll
Fault Module Version: 1.0.0.0
OS Version: 6.0.6000.2.0.0.768.3
Read our privacy statement:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=50163&clcid=0x0409
"


The last sane human being in a world gone mad.
If you were a cockroach, what type of cockroach would you be?
AndrewT
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2007
Location: MI, USA
Posted: 6th Mar 2008 21:16 Edited at: 6th Mar 2008 21:16
Hmm, I'm using Vist Home Premium and can't seem to reproduce any errors. Animations work, textures work, and it's never crashed. But I'll see what I can do.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2022-08-12 04:25:45
Your offset time is: 2022-08-12 04:25:45