Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Header files

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 7th Mar 2008 10:25
Hi All

Firstly, sorry if this is in the wrong place, but because my problem is related to Dark GDK I assumed here would be most appropriate.

I recently downloaded Visual C++ with Dark GDK, and I was looking at the Dark Invaders example. I understood most of it, except the concept of header files (.h). Could someone explain what headers are used for, and how to use them? I searched the web a bit but couldn't find anything completely relevant.

I am quite new to C++/OOP so I'm still grasping the basics, but I'm determined to get to know it. I have had quite a bit of Dark Basic experience though, so I thought using Dark GDK would be a great way to introduce me to game making in C++.

Thanks in advance!

Intel Core 2 Duo 6600 2GB DDR2 RAM Radeon X1600 Series Realtek Sound System

Persist and you will succeed.
Benjamin
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 7th Mar 2008 12:40
This page seems to explain the concept well enough: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Header_file.

z_man
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Mar 2008 04:06
Thanks, I get the idea of headers a little better now.

Intel Core 2 Duo 6600 2GB DDR2 RAM Radeon X1600 Series Realtek Sound System

Persist and you will succeed.
Beeny95
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Mar 2008 09:53
How do you get a picture to move with arrow key. Please help someone

I'm 12 And Game Programming
jason p sage
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Mar 2008 13:57
Ok Beeny95. we're glad your diving in - but you are jumping into a big deal... so some basics so you get the most out of the forums: