Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Server/Client with????

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Mar 2008 21:42
Im kinda new at c++

Im trying to do MMORPG after a long way i found DarkGDK...

I trying to learn how make teh server and client and how connect to DataBase so...plz give me hand...

WinSock is the best for this???
MySQL is the best for this???

There is any samples..???

and any other tip.??

i was just reading about the BPD but i dunt got what it does...

Rlly Thx for all!!!

Im noob now but u ll c my work...soon

Gods....! bah im better
Fusspawn
Years of Service
User Offline
Quote: "Im noob now but u ll c my work...soon"

New to DarkGdk ?

Best bet, Build a single player offline client version and get your concept down first.

Screw anything MMO untill youve atleast got a prototype, Even making a
multiplayer Pong Demo to give you an idea first or something,

But just stay away from mmo till youve had more practice.

Stuck in the land of the confused! and loving it!
Karbonize
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Mar 2008 23:03
Well yeah...

Thats y im here.. to do small programas and learn about Connection im not rushing to the main proyect but...i was trying to ask for the correct tools to make it...

and i know is long way to make MMO...

Im just looking for info...

so...any idea that what i type of connection i can use???

Gods....! bah im better
Niels Henriksen
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Mar 2008 00:39
For connection to the server you just need an IP adress and port. Then you can sent request to server and back.

With database will I recommend that you are using RAM as your primary database and then using the databasen (mysql, mssql) for "backup".

Niels Henriksen