Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / dbInKey()

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Does anyone have any idea what dbInKey() returns if no key is being pressed? so far I've testing 0, '\0', "\0" none of these being what is returned.

Taco Justice
Lilith
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Apr 2008 04:48
dbInKey() returns a pointer to a character string and a quickie debug session shows that it's an empty string if nothing is pressed. So either

or, the quicker way

Without seeing your code I'd have to assume that you were testing the returned value rather than what the returned pointer was pointing to.

Strange that it returns a pointer to a character rather than a character

Lilith, Night Butterfly
I'm not a programmer but I play one in the office
Ghthor
Years of Service
User Offline
I love you

Taco Justice
Lilith
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Apr 2008 05:32
I have that effect on people.

Lilith, Night Butterfly
Ghthor
Years of Service
User Offline
OK Another question, is the returned char* a ptr to a new operation memblock that I have to garbage collect perse. Or is it collected by the internal GDK runtime functions

Taco Justice
Lilith
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Apr 2008 09:00
Very likely the latter. In C++ if you're not doing a new call to reserve memory then the pointer is merely being assigned to point to an area defined by the function that assigned it. Since this is a pointer to a single character then I can't imagine why it would reserve space for anything more.

Lilith, Night Butterfly
Ghthor
Years of Service
User Offline
Ok So you have to garbage collect it. Every call of dbInKey() is returning a new piece of memory that you have to delete.

Taco Justice
Lilith