Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Music & Sound FX / Qmusic v2 Source Download

Author
Message
SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 19th Apr 2008 21:00 Edited at: 19th Apr 2008 21:03
I have decided to release the source code to qmusic version 2

the only thing you need is to give me some credit if you use any of the code...
2nd you will need to have a blue gui user key to get this to work.

If you have not purchased blue gui then i suggest doing so....its very good and cheap.

there was alot of media not used but still in the source....ignore
(but dont delete unless you have rewritten the code not to load it)

this download has all ...every thing i have ever done to qmusic version 2 and its all free to edit and modify for your self..


have fun

any questions about v2 source please post here
I may release qmusic v3 Source at a later date once i have developed v4

link to download here and its over 100 megs...beware...lol
http://www.jeku.com/sheldon/qm2source.zip

specail thanks to jeku for his help getting me some webspace
With his help i can continue to improve this application and post
(for free) downloads.

Thanks JEKU

(Question for jeku) Is there a way to have a webpage counter set up? What does it take to do that? Im no pro and dont know html...so...
SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 19th Apr 2008 21:15 Edited at: 19th Apr 2008 21:18
Oh one quick fix....dont worry you do not have to re-download anything


before you compile to run the program goto the media tab and delete a file that doesnt exist that its looking for.

it is not used in the code so i deleted it
when you first run it after entering your key in you will see an error come up with the file that its looking for.
delete that and you will be fine

oh you may also need the blue gui dll in the same folder ....i cant remember....any troubles please post them and id be glad to help

(also i am aware of my typo's (bad spelling)...hahaha! but im too lazy to correct tem) lol (Them) there...i corrected 1
SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 19th Apr 2008 23:31
here is what makes up qmusic v2

This will not run without media attached....this is just to take a look to see what makes it tick
(source code)
SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 19th Apr 2008 23:33
there is alot of ideas i had not finished programming in

feel free to add and modify
chunks chunks
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jan 2007
Location: ackworth uk
Posted: 19th Apr 2008 23:58
nice one mate ,i was going to make an editor using midi this will help loads.

i was wondering how to go about it.
SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 20th Apr 2008 01:37
i havent got around to trying those midi dlls yet but im sure that it would be even more simpler then this app.

This app was using midi that was recorded to wav files.

if you dont have to program that bit then its just a matter of having an array like music(noteamount#,wich instrument#,what note from instrument,A): [A] could be a number of things

i used it for volume
i also used it for what type of note..(continous or restarting note)
i think i may have used it for pan as well in v3 anyways


then you just need a user input speed to process the notes

process:
1) check if its time to update notes
2) if its not time return to main code
3) if it is time increase to the next note
4) set volume and pan correctly
5)play notes that need to be played
6)stop all notes that should not be playing
7)return to main code

thats it



then in your main code you have it in your loops

eg..
do
your code here

updatenotes()
loop

also you need something to keep track of how many notes there are to be played and if it should repeat them all as well

hope that helps..

if i get a chance i will try using those dll's you gave me to try to get some real midi playing

that would be pritty cool to get working.
SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 20th Apr 2008 01:39
if your going to use those midi dll's id gladly try to help you with your app as well
cheers!
SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 20th Apr 2008 02:08
oh i just tested midi

its looking good wow!

im going to program v4 with real midi !! oh yeah baby


all notes will be available and these files will be alot smaller then those pesky wav saved files
chunks chunks
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jan 2007
Location: ackworth uk
Posted: 20th Apr 2008 03:30
cool i`ll leave the music app to you

would getting control over the windows mixer be any use to you.

if so i will make a dll to do it, need to makesure that it works with both vista and windows .
SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 20th Apr 2008 04:25 Edited at: 20th Apr 2008 04:27
one thing im looking at:

ways to enable darkbasic users to play music composed from this program with no slow down and with a simple command or 2

the easiest way for other people to use it is to have them install the midi dll files into dbpro..

another way is to program a player application that runs along side with the darkbasic app that you develop.

i could get it to launch the music app at the start of my program then minimize it. Then send it commands threw the clipboard? humm
that might work

a user would just have to type in WRITE TO CLIPBOARD "QmidiLoad blahblah.music"

then the music app activly checks the clipboard for commands then processes them.

you could tell it to load and play music... to stop playing the music. to merge another song into play.... by just writting messages into the clipboard..

the best part about that is there will be no slow down in processing music....the only thing is that your computer would be running 2 darkbasic apps...i still think this is the better way to go...

any thoughts?

processing sound shouldnt kill the second programs performance when there is not going to be alot to process


so my idea:
code:


rem this is my program
rem the first thing i will do is load the music app
execute file "music app.exe"
` the music app will automaticaly minimize
restore window
`hopefully that command will give this app focus
WRITE TO CLIPBOARD "Qmidiloop(mymusic.qm4)"
`the other app will load it and delete the clipboard message
`then play the song looping
do
`your game
gosub ohnextlevel
sync
loop

ohnextlevel:
write to clipboard "qmidimerge(nextsong.qm4)"
`the other app smoothly loads in second song and plays it


there could be commands like

write to clipboard "qmidistopplaying" this would stop anymusic playing and sit idle
write to clipboard "qmidiclose" this could close the music playing program

or i could some how tie the system registry to send commands back and forth

anyways this is all just in the thinking stages for the moment


maby registry commands would be better then the clip board
chunks chunks
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jan 2007
Location: ackworth uk
Posted: 20th Apr 2008 05:53
if i knew how your file format works maybe i could write a plugin to give you the commands your seeking .

could use the dbpro commands from the dll or mabe use direct sound to play them back .

do you have functions to load and playback your files without the app .

anyways i`ll scan through your source see if i can come up with anything .
SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 20th Apr 2008 06:17
this is the version 2 as well


version 3 loads differently...

i will release that source code soon as well
Jeku
Moderator
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jul 2003
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Posted: 20th Apr 2008 07:21
Quote: "(Question for jeku) Is there a way to have a webpage counter set up? What does it take to do that? Im no pro and dont know html...so..."


It shouldn't be a problem if you want a counter on your home page. There are tons of free counters out there you can use on your sites. Attaching a counter to the download might be trickier and would require an extra download php script.


chunks chunks
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jan 2007
Location: ackworth uk
Posted: 20th Apr 2008 14:37
hi smd if you`ve got time would you test this mp3plugin for me just want to see if it works on vista.

many thanks chunks

Attachments

Login to view attachments
SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 20th Apr 2008 16:06
ill test your plugin in 2 sec's...
Ive decided the best playback method would be to have qmusic encode a midi file for people to use in darkbasic.

the midi file format shouldnt be to bad to learn so i will do some
experimenting. Worst case senario would be to buy a book that teaches me how to save a midi file.

cool thing about midi music:
1)easy to make anything
2)plays music when your program is not in focus

ill check out your mp3 plugin
chunks chunks
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jan 2007
Location: ackworth uk
Posted: 20th Apr 2008 17:36
there is plenty of stuff on the midi file format around the web. have come across it before on this forum theres some snippets .

are you going to add support for midi keyboard etc think you can capture notes with that dll can`t remeber who wrote it now .
SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 20th Apr 2008 18:44
i cant get your mp3 dll working...

it crashes on the first command that uses it

and i can make a midi keyboard.....i dont have an external keyboard to test things out. So for now it will just be midi with sound card.

file formats will be:
wav (record to wav file with external app)
midi (native midi file format)
qm4 (qmusic v4's file format)
qsf (qmusic v4's sound fx editor)(using midi)

thats it.

as far as playing back in dark basic....there will be alot of choices to choose from.
SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 21st Apr 2008 01:44
i think to speed things up! me editor will look the same as v3

changes will be that you can set your note range and have 10 tracks not 6
track 6 will no longer be drum dedicated.

i should have something for v4 soon to make its own thread

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-18 05:45:16
Your offset time is: 2024-04-18 05:45:16