Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / GDK Limitations

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Apr 2008 05:24
I'm no expert, but the GDK seems to have some limitations. Correct me if I'm wrong, but the GDK doesn't seem to easily support either of these features:

Loading a partial section of a large bitmap ( something like dbLoadImage ( "World Map.bmp", 32, 32, 64, 64, 1 ) to load, say, a small tile in the larger image.

Detecting collision with any foreground sprites with one command
Lilith
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Apr 2008 06:25
Quote: "Loading a partial section of a large bitmap ( something like dbLoadImage ( "World Map.bmp", 32, 32, 64, 64, 1 ) to load, say, a small tile in the larger image."

Copy a portion of the bitmap to another bitmap.

Quote: "Detecting collision with any foreground sprites with one command"

Seems easy enough to roll your own.

Lilith, Night Butterfly
I'm not a programmer but I play one in the office
Mahoney
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Apr 2008 15:35
I don't get how to detect collision with any on screen sprites at once. The only collision command checks collision with one sprite. It would be in efficient and near impossible to make a loop that checked for collision with every single sprite.
IanM
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Apr 2008 17:14
Yes it would - that's why you specify a target sprite number of zero.

For example:

Lilith
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Apr 2008 17:24
What he said. And if you need to check for all sprites..

Lilith, Night Butterfly
jason p sage
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Apr 2008 18:09