Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / 3D Studio Max Imports?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hey, everyone. I'm a 3D animator (student) and I have a game idea that I want to put into action. I downloaded Visual C++ and the DarkGDK "wizard". I've looked over the tutorials, and I have a small understanding of what it does. My question is, can I import .max files? I don't want to pay even more money for a 3D program that I don't know how to work when I already have both 3D studio Max 9 and Maya learners addition. So my question is, can I simply use max files? If not, is there a converter out there to change 3D files from max, maya, exc to the proper file extension?

Thanks in advanced!
RancidRat
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th Apr 2008 09:26 Edited at: 24th Apr 2008 09:28
Hey Dude
Dark GDK does not support those formats. It says that it does support 3ds files, but even that is not really true. There are many forum posts about this. The best and safest way to load 3d objects is to load them as .X files. I often download 3d objects, and then I convert them into .X files.

3d studio max has a plugin called Panda somthing, it allows you too export to .X format. I have asked this same question before
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=124888&b=22
Now, there is another thing you can download for free, I can't remeber where I found it. It think the one part is

http://www.mvps.org/vbdx/downloads/files/winconvx.zip
This is a command line thing that allowes you to convert .3ds to .X

Someone made a gui version of it that works when it is in the same DIR as that exe:
http://francis.dupont.free.fr/coindev/conv3ds.exe