Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / DarkGDK benfit and disadvantage

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I am just learning about DarkGDK and I used to use Darkbasic about two years ago. Well I am wondering what the advantage of DarkGDK is over Darkbasic. Any input will be greatly appreciated.

P.S. I know a bit about C++ so I won't need a crash coarse on real programming at all.
jinzai
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 30th Apr 2008 02:31 Edited at: 30th Apr 2008 02:32
DarkBASIC is a collection of DLLs that are bound together by the compiler into an application.

GDK is the same code, but in static link libraries, and is already part of the application. The early-binding provides a great increase in speed when calling GDK functions that are the equivalent of DBP functions.

Of course, C++ is just faster in any event.
Core2uu
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 30th Apr 2008 02:32
The answer to your question is here...
http://gdk.thegamecreators.com/?f=darksdkvsdbpro

~~It's not who you are underneath, but what you do that defines you.~~
Chaddica
Years of Service
User Offline
nice! Thanks for the link and info. One last question though. How is text input into a game handled?
Core2uu
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 30th Apr 2008 04:48
I'm sorta confused by your last question but if you want to know how to get text on the screen... It's all in the help file... Start Menu->Programs->the Game Creators->Dark GDK->Documentation->Information...

Chaddica
Years of Service
User Offline
Well what I am trying to figure out is if you can have input boxes for text. As I remember the last time that I used Darkbasic it wasn't supported for any type of text input.
Core2uu
Years of Service
User Offline