Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Text file Output

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I looked around the forums for help on this but could not find any help. Im still new to C++ and I am trying to understand how to export data to a text file. I want to export a list of floats and ints to a text file.
I know there was an example in the MS Visual Studio help file to do it:

This works great when I do a forms application or something like that but I cant get it to work with Dark GDK (I dont even know what files to #include)

I know that DGDK has its own functions,I get this to work fine:
dbOpenToWrite ( 1, "file.txt" );
dbWriteString ( 1,"hello");

but how would I do something like
dbWriteString ( 1,"%d", myint); ?
Do i use dbWriteLong ( 1, myint) or what?
Thank you
jason p sage
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd May 2008 15:57

I recommend you use this though for file handles. (I have this code in a class, simply remove the JGC_FILE:: to use
as a pure function, but you MIGHT need to rename if you get a conflict. Idea being, to stop using the hardcoded Filehandles as soon as possible, because eventually you'll need a more dynamic approach.

Your issue is a linking thing with DarkGDK. Lilith told me you need to go into the project properties and change the /MTD to MD or something.. something about DarkGDK didn't supply a debug lib for us to use, and that causes the RELEASE window lib's (like IO) to not link correctly or something. So, I'll let you google this site for LINKING STDLIB IO and anything else you think of.. but it has to do with setting a flag in the linker options so that RELEASE versions of the STDLIB's compile is as RELEASE versions and not the DEBUG ones or something.