Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / why a PNG might load via dbLoadImage on one PC fine, and Corrupt on another?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd May 2008 20:59
My bitmap fonts, PNG files, use DarkGDK dbLoadImage and work fine, but I have a another machine where EVERYTHING runs fine EXCEPT the loaded media seems ... well... messed up?!?

Any ideas? Everything else is fine... I can even get around this issue if I wanted via, loading to bitmap and capturing, but the PNG has perfect lossless compression and alpha channel.. any ideas? (P.S. this troubled PC is set to 32bit mode display).

Lilith
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd May 2008 00:07
Video drivers?

Lilith, Night Butterfly
I'm not a programmer but I play one in the office
jason p sage
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd May 2008 02:21
Thanx for the response.

Its a shoddy card so - even though it CAN draw it usually... maybe directX doesn't even try to handle it right... I dunno.. thought pictures load to mem.. then get piped to video during use.

I'm concerned because EVERYTHING WORKS except... My Bitmap fonts.. which use the MakeMemblockFromImage command and viceversa for actual display.

The "GetImage" from pasting to a bitmap ALMOST worked... its ALMOST like DarkGDK didn't like my video card because the alpha commands DO work.. just ... I dunno...

My concern is that I want my game(s) to work on both high end and shoddy machines... and if I could test for the "issue" I could code around the issue.. but I found nothing... all my tests showed the code was "reporting" to work just fine.

Ah well...

Thank you for stopping in!

Core2uu
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd May 2008 04:24
How "shoddy" do you want to go?