Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / simple syntax error

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hey, another c++ newbie here with a smack-yourself-in-the-head easy question that I don't have the answer to.

I have a 2D float array. Everytime in my code that I refer to values from it, I use a constant int as the index as you can see in the code I have so far:

I get about 70 errors when compiling, most of which look like this:

I don't know if I'm mixing ints and floats wrong, or you just can't use variables to index arrays, or what, but does anyone know what I'm doing wrong?

Also, can you use an array value for db commands (such as putting an array value in the ID parameter)? Does it have to be an int or does it convert automatically.

Last question, what's the easiest way to convert ints to floats and back, etc?

Thank you for any help you can give me.
Lilith
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th May 2008 08:15
I'm not seeing what the compiler is complaining about. It's saying that you're not closing off a pair of square brackets but it all looks okay to me.

C/C++ used to be fairly forgiving WRT promoting data types but I think it's tightened up on it since. There may be a problem with trying to place the value 100 in a slot designated for floats. I do question why you're using an int when the data clearly requires a float, but it may be some trick you're trying to pull off. That said....

First of all, using #define to force an expression to take on a value is frowned on. Instead of ......

Akkkkkkk!!! I just realized what your problem is. You never follow a #define with a semi-colon unless it needs to be part of your replacement text. What's happening is that everywhere you use

NPC_index