Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Solid sprite with alpha control??

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi,

I need some help here.

I need a sprite that is solid and that I can control its alpha (basically I need to fade in/out pictures with black in them) but I am only getting one of the two:

Alpha works but black color is see through:
dbSetSprite(1, 1, 1);
dbSetSpriteAlpha(1, 128);

Black is now solid but alpha does not work:
dbSetSprite(1, 1, 0);
dbSetSpriteAlpha(1, 128);

Thanks.
Lilith
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th May 2008 18:11
I'm not sure how you're going about it but can you use dbSetImageColorKey to set the transparency color of your image to something other than black?

Lilith, Night Butterfly
I'm not a programmer but I play one in the office
jinzai
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th May 2008 19:42 Edited at: 9th May 2008 20:09
This happened yesterday in the DBPro forum. Let's see if it is the same thing.

Alpha transparency is not the same thing as image transparency. Image transparency is only a single color key, like Lilith said.

Images with alpha channels use a separate channel for the alpha. PNG and TGA are the best for this, but MSPaint does not save an alpha channel, just the RGB.

You need a paint program that uses an alpha channel for that to work.

If you don't have such a program, you can post the image and I can fix it for you.

This image uses the red channel as the source for the alpha, so it really doesn't show a great use of alpha...but, your program should be able to set the transparency of the flag using alpha:

Attachments

Login to view attachments
jason p sage
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 10th May 2008 02:33