Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Right setup sequence of commands

Author
Message
bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 15th May 2008 13:09
I have the feeling that I am doing something wrong when setting up the initial commands before the main loop of my prog:



what is happeningis that the screen goes black (ok), then the dbLoadObject commands execute, and the screen gets half black and half shows Windows desktop (wrong!), then .X objects and decoded and programm starts to exectute.
jason p sage
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jun 2007
Location: Ellington, CT USA
Posted: 15th May 2008 16:53
try moving sync stuff to the top....

Try Calling LoopGDK() not in a loop:

bool DoneGame=LoopGDK();
if(!DoneGame){dbSync();dbSync();};

then load your models, then ....

while(LoopGDK()){ etc etc.


Now I never tried these ideas, I never cared that for the first second or two the display is getting all put together..

but you might need to experiment to get what you consider a smart smooth looking start.

bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 15th May 2008 20:13
since the objects i am loading are quite big, the "scrambled screen" shows for 8 or 10 seconds
bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 15th May 2008 21:12
moving the sync commands to the top did not make any difference

it seems that the "screen scrambling" is caused by this command:

dbSetDisplayMode (1024,768,32);

any ideas?
jason p sage
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jun 2007
Location: Ellington, CT USA
Posted: 15th May 2008 21:54
Yeah... Set Display Mode is the most Earth shattering command in this case IMHO... and maybe try setting it FIRST, THEN turning window off... you might get a full screen "window paint" before the "lag" so at least its black for a few seconds versus a "hole" of icons showing through.....just an idea.

jason p sage
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jun 2007
Location: Ellington, CT USA
Posted: 16th May 2008 01:53
Oh.... then set sync stuff, set display stuff, cal dbSync() 2 times, THEN load your objects. Try that next. If you can decipher DBPro basic at all, I made a loading splash screen by changing the current bitmap to avoid that sort of thing in DarkBasic here: http://code.google.com/p/ironinfantrydbpro/ full source and media included there.

bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 16th May 2008 16:18
Thanks a lot Jason. Finally it worked as it should:



if you even move around, or do not put one of the commands, it won't work!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-29 21:24:10
Your offset time is: 2024-09-29 21:24:10