Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Resource files.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd May 2008 21:26
This question is realy more to do with VC2008 rather than darkGDK.

What I want to do is to include a text file as part of my compiled exe. Then at runtime load/read it. I believe from some searching I need to make a 'resource file' and include it that way. But I'm such a c++ noob that I have never used a resource file before.

What I need to know is how do I:
Include a plain text file in my compiled exe.
Access the data in it at run time.

Thankyou

The word "Gullible" cannot be found in any English Dictionary.
jinzai
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd May 2008 21:57
Resource files are how Windows does it, but they are compiled by the resource compiler, and become an integral part of the application. There are functions that load the resource, depending on the type of resource you are using, but those are menus, dialogs, strings, icons, etc. To load an icon, for example, it would be LoadIcon.

If that is what you are referring to, then you need to have a file that contains the resource definitions named resource.h, and another text file, properly formatted with an extension of .rc The name is the project name by convention, although I'm not certain if that is required.
Flashing Blade
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd May 2008 00:30
jinzani thanks for answer, but I'm still unsure of specificaly what I need to do.

To include a text file, eg: "abc.txt" and access it during run time:

What do I write in the resource.h file?
How do I format and write the .rc file?
How do I load and use the data in the file "abc.txt"?

Could anyone give me specifics on how I would do this?

Thanks.